My review on Spain.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

There are probably no country in the world, or in Europe, I have been seeing more of than Spain. From the Canary islands in the south to San Sebastian and the Bay of Biscay in the north I have visited all the major cities, and even the country side too since I have been travelling the country by foot most of my time.

There are big differences in food, culture and nature - and people from the south are so different from the ones in the north that if they didnt speak the same language you wouldnt think you were in the same country. However, they have long traditions in being friendly since tourism is their biggest industry - and they really take care of you as you often are their main income source.

I like to visit Spain, mostly because of my habit of walking - and they have ancient roads built by the Romans 2000 years ago, extremely old architecture as old Churches, castles built by the Templars - and who doesnt know about Antoni Gaudi? The man behind La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, and the fairytale building in Astorga.

The Spanish food is average, their breakfasts can hardly be called food - however, they have brilliant lunch menus also called Tapas or Pinchos. I would prefer the Tapas street in Logrono if I could mention my favourite restaurant street in this country. Their evening food is a bit naked, and often the starter is more tasty than the main meal itself.

When we speak about the people they are kind, but of course the law of nature works here as everywhere else in the world - speaking about greed, jealousy and so on. Most of all the Spanish people are funny - especially when they speak English with Spanish accent, they do not have to try to make a joke since you laugh your tits off by listening to them. I recommend my readers to look up Manuel from Fawlty towers if you do not understand what I mean.

The only thing with Spain which is a negative for me is their Siesta, which is very annoying for a person coming from the nordic countries, it basically means that they close down the entire city in the middle of the day because of the heat. From being in a lively place it all over sudden turns into a ghost town - with all the shops closed. In the major cities, like Barcelona, there are enormous social problems - which is not pretty for the human eye.

Conclusion:

Spain is definitely a country you should pay a visit, and if I didnt live in Czech Republic - I guess I would have chosen Spain instead. The nature is wonderful, and for those who want to explore the country by foot I would recommend you to look up Camino de Santiago which is an excellent opportunity to explore it. The 2 routes I advise you to do is the French Camino and the one which is called Via de la Plata (The Silver route) - however, for the beginner the French route is always the best. Except this - the country is filled with lovely places, beaches and recreational spots.

spain.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97