Feelgood Friday Fishes #4 - Friends

in #travel6 years ago

One of the things about diving is that you're supposed to enjoy it with a buddy. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not the best dive buddy as I'm so often lost in my own little underwater world. In fact more often than not my fellow divers accept I'm buddied up with my camera and we'll be off on our own adventure. However, as amazing as solo diving is, there is nothing like sharing the underwater experience with friends. 

I spent two months filming dive sites for a scuba school in Zanzibar and as well as coming home with amazing underwater encounters, it was the connections on dry land that will stay with me for life. 

In modern day life we so rarely have time to make the kind of connections that lead to life long friendships but when I'm travelling and exploring the world, that's when I find I have the time and space. Not everyone I meet is going to stick, some of the people are there to share a moment; be it a night on the dance floor or a companion for a crazy road trip but I've made some of the best friends while travelling. 

There's something so special about sharing adventures with people that I think cements them into your soul. And no matter how far apart you are or how infrequently you see them, when you finally reconnect it's like you pick up the conversation where you left off. I feel honoured to say that the diver in this video felt like a friend from the moment I met them, and five years later, although he's still travelling the globe, is now a member of my extended family.

Footage filmed in Zanzibar, Tanzania

Music Credit - Of Monsters and Men - Yellow Light - ATV Music - 2012 

#teamsouthafrica 

!steemitworldmap -5.754348 lat 39.279900 long Diving Zanzibar - Hunga reef d3scr


 


Sort:  

Wow what an awesome moment, i like swimming wish i could experience this

You don't need to be on scuba to enjoy swimming with the fishes. Some of the places I've worked you don't even need to be able to swim as they provide mask, snorkel and life jacket. Such an incredible sight to see though.

beautiful picture and inspirational thoughts about friendship and about a great sport which I personally like but also a little bit afraid of.
Great post, thank you for sharing !

Thanks @carlottafr. I think a lot of people have a very sensible fear of breathing underwater, thankfully I'm not very sensible :-)

You have posted a great post in a very beautiful way

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oceanelement
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=feelgood-friday-fishes-4-friends


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Very cool-just beautiful.

Congratulations @oceanelement! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66