Let the Adventures Begin! (My First Adventure!)

in #travel7 years ago

To keep my life full of new, interesting and amazing things, I have started a new project that I am calling “My Adventures.”

My Adventures is a personal project of discovery. It is a challenge to myself, to try 52 things that I have never done before, in 2017. That’s it. One adventure a week, for an entire year. These adventures can range from trying new foods or taking a strange class, to something more extreme like diving in a shark cage or driving a NASCAR at 200 MPH…

I will document each adventure here, with pictures and words that describe my experience. How I felt. What I learned. It will be my adventurer’s journal.

My other goal with this project is to inspire others to do the same. When was the last time you did something for the first time? Do you remember how AWESOME it felt? Why not bring that joy back into your life? I invite you to take the challenge with me!

Just so you know, I still haven’t decided what all adventures will be, but I have a handful to get started with. I’m sure that I will come up with the rest as the year goes on, either on my own, or from suggestions from my family, friends and fans.

A Chinese Proverb says “The Journey is the Reward”… So with that in mind, let the journey and adventures BEGIN!

So now on to my very first adventure….  and it was… (drum roll please…)

Airboating in the Florida Everglades!

Adventure # 1

The adventure began earlier this week with a 40 minute drive west to the Miccosukee Indian Village in the Florida Everglades.  This is the home of the Miccosukee Indian Tribe of Florida and a place where they showcase their traditions, culture, lifestyle and history.  They also do tours of the Everglades…in Airboats!  A perfect adventure.

The tour, which took about an hour, was guided by ‘Benny’, a native of the area.  It departed from just outside the village and took us deep into the Everglades.  While in the marsh, we made several stops including one at a hammock which was built out with authentic Chickee Huts made from cypress trees and palmetto leaves.  There we learned about alligators and about the Miccosukee culture.  We also saw tons of gators, turtles and even an ibis trying to eat a snake!  (I’m still not sure who one that battle since the snake was wrapping itself around the ibis’ neck!)

The airboat was fast, loud and awesome!  It was definitely an experience that I wouldn’t mind repeating.

So there it is!  One adventure down! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71295.78
ETH 3844.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42