Smith Mountain Lake Vacation

in #travel6 years ago

P1170412.JPG

Hey Y'all

Here Are a Few Snaps

From Smith Mountain Lake

20180708_105232.jpg

Well Smith Mountain Lake is a nice sized 20,000 acre lake in Virginia. We had to drive through some mountains to get there, hence the aptly named lake!

IMG-20180706-WA0002.jpg

We stayed in a quaint little place right on the water.

20180708_091609.jpg

The cool thing is that they rent boats right there! All you had to do is walk out of your room door and jump in the boat!

20180707_181600.jpg

I rented a deck boat...

20180707_153314.jpg

I also rented a pontoon.

This was the first time I ever drove a pontoon around and I was pleasantly surprised. It was very stable, but had plenty of power and was a lot of fun!

20180707_170814.jpg

20180707_093141.jpg

There were some very nice places all along the lake.

20180707_093547.jpg

20180707_171113.jpg

I looked at a couple of places to buy, but haven't found the right one yet.

20180706_182652.jpg

20180706_182222.jpg

We even discovered we like Bojangles!

IMG-20180707-WA0169.jpg

Well I hope you enjoyed seeing some of my vacation clicks.


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

If you don't know, Watch the video!!!

Sort:  

Cool. Coincidence my parents retired on a lake home at Smith Mountain. Nice there and so are the people.

Oh wow! How cool is that! Hope they like it.

Our family loves Smith Mountain Lake! Glad y’all could spend time quality vacation time there. What part of the lake would you like to settle at?

Well I have not spent much time there yet to know it well. I plan to go again around Thanksgiving. I was looking at a couple places in Moneta whick is Bedford county. Cable internet is a must for me. From what I can tell, it is not everywhere yet. I liked the convieniece of the Westlake Town Center area there. Nice people down there from what I could tell.

My grandparents live in Moneta and enjoy it there. Yes, cable internet is still a work in progress, haha.

Oh wow! How about that. Wouldn't it be funny if I end up there lol. I am on a 2 year plan, so maybe one day we could meet up for dinner in Moneta lol!!! What a small world!

Well if they have any opinions on what subs on the water are good or bad, I would love to hear it!

That would be great! There are some good restaraunts in that area.

My Pappy has a knack for connecting people with good deals, so, we’ll see, lol.

A nice place to get away from the hustle and bustle but other than the mountains, seem quite similar to where you live.

Nooo! It is not winter for 9 months out of the year, only three! That is the big deal @ace108. That and the people are much kinder and nicer there. Honest to God, it is the truth!

Out of the city, people are generally nicer.
Someone need to do a study on that. :-)

I live close to the city, but, people are generally nice. I believe you are right though. The city causes undue stress and so many other issues. Transportation, etc. They probably do have a study somewhere! :)

Really it's the same way there as well? Very interesting!

I think it's the same mostly but we are more of city than not.

Exactly right. The question is just whether the benefits are worth the hassles.

Winter is much more harsh up here in Michigan. Plus winter seems to never end up here!

I only enjoy the snow of the winter when I'm inside sipping tea.
Hate driving out there in the weather totally.

You had a great time. Thanks for sharing it!

You had a beautiful time, weather, view, food...
It's enough :))

Sounds like a nice trip.

Do they rent submarines? :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ooh.this is how you tell a vacation trip. I just had my vacation and i do not know hoe to share it to the steemians hehehe.

Just like show and tell at school is how I do it lol.

Smith Mountain Lake looks like a nice place to call home. I can see that it really agrees with you and I know the right place will reveal itself when the time is right.

In the meantime, it is fun to look at what they got! Hey! Stay away from that Bojangles stuff! It will be the death of you! ;)

So, are you turning in the speedboat for a pontoon? Did you see many kayakers there?

Tip!

Looks like a great place to vacation and live. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01