Hoover Dam - Yesterday and Today

in #travel5 years ago

These images are a mixture of some I took on a trip to Las Vegas in 2016 and some my dad took in the late '60s.

A couple years ago I bought myself a PowerSlide 5000 scanner and using VueScan x64 software I began scanning around 3000 of my mom and dad's 35mm slides. I also used some Lightroom editing on the scanned images. The camera he used is unknown to me.

All other photos taken by me with a Nikon D3300 and CPL filter with some Lightroom post processing (except where noted).

Click images for larger view

A shot overlooking the dam from the Arizona side (2016).


A similar shot taken by my dad in 1968. This was during one of our many family vacations around the western US.


A couple more shots of the dam from the backside (2016).


This picture shows a view of the bridge spanning the gorge through which the Colorado River resumes its flow. Before the bridge was built all the traffic used to go right across the top of the dam. I imagine that made for some spectacular traffic jams. :)


My dad took this in 1966 on another visit. We had taken the tour and rode the elevator to the bottom. My only memory of this was being crammed in like sardines and having some girls hair smothering my face. Fun times. lol.


Overlooking Lake Mead (2016).


Half of me and my mom in relatively the same spot (1968).


And since my dad cut me out of the other photo 48 years ago, one of me. Luckily for you guys I left my shirt on for this one. ;) Taken by my girlfriend.

Click images for larger view

Thanks for looking and enjoy your day!

Sort:  

Thank you oldmans! You've just received an upvote of 79% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

That's a huge building, very impressive Dam, and your photos show the dimensions really good :)
You have done it right, in our age it is better to leave the shirt on ;) lol

Ah yes, it has been many, many moons since I have gone shirtless in public. "Discretion is the better part of valor" or something like that. :)

I fully agree with this saying :)

impressive shots! Dams are always amazingly powerful places to experience.

Thank you! Yes they are. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99