[Portugal Adventure] Beach after beach after beach [I went to 3 beaches in 15min by walking!]

in #travel6 years ago

Hi Fellow Steemians

So today was the first full day I was in Lagos and the weather didn't turn out as well as I had hoped. It was overcast and there was a strong wind that made me feel like going outside for a walk wasn't the best idea. But, it actually wasn't as bad as I thought it was and the walk to all the beaches was actually very fun and exciting!

Enjoy my adventurous day! :D


Casinha do Petisco

There was something that I was really looking for in Lagos and it was a dish from this restaurant called the Mixed Seafood Cataplana. I came across it online while I was researching for places to eat in Lagos and I saw this massive metal bowl stuffed with seafood in a broth that looked so hearty and delicious that I just had to try it.

The restaurant was easy to find with Google Maps and their menu had an English version that made it easier to decide what you wanted to order. I'm not sure if it was because it is the low season, but there was almost noone when I went which was good for me because it meant we got a seat immediately!

Total Price: 32 euros
Mixed Seafood Cataplana: The taste was unique and was like something that I had tasted before but not completely the same. It seemed like it had some Thai curry elements to it but was also different from it at the same time. But I do know one thing, IT WAS DELICIOUS! All the seafood was fresh, the prawns had their shells removed for easy eating and the clams burst with flavour everytime you popped one in your mouth. Also, the potato chips they gave were crunchy and full of flavour. The menu says it is for 2 people but the serving size was big enough for 3 people and my only regret is not having a stomach that could fit everything.

Beach Hopping

After eating that filling meal we had decided to visit all the beaches along the edge of the city. Lagos has small cut out sections along the cliffside that has deposits of sand (practically making it a beach?). Too bad it was winter because the water looked like something that I really wanted to dive into (even though the tide looked strong and dangerous to go into).

We had wanted to rent some bicycles or a scooter to easily access each one but turns out all the places were at lunch! and we would have to wait about an hour or more for them to open up so we just decided to walk it. It turns out that it was actually a very easy walk. We looked at every nook and cranny there was to look at along the cliffside and it really was a lot better than I had hoped it to be. Actually, it was a LOT of fun. Being able to right up to the cliff face and be between it and some nice water was strangely relaxing. Plus, there were a lot of photo opportunities as you'll see below!

@kellykim and me!


I'm coming to the end of my Portugal trip and I think it's one more the more memorable trips that I had! Even better that I'm with @kellykim! I'm going to try and make the most of the time I have left so stay tuned!


UPVTOE | FOLLOW | COMMENT

I'm @peterkkim96 and as always, THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

haha this is awesome. what was the temperature like there? what was the temperature of the water? up where i live the temperature of the water is 48 degrees! insane right? awesome post, i love the pictures! i hope to see many more of your trip! excited to follow this, i have only ever been to Spain! not Portugal!

The temperature was around 17 degrees Celsius and I didn't go in the water because I thought it would be cold.
Wow is that in F or C?
Glad you enjoyed the post and I hope you get to visit sometime in the future!

Wow, those beaches are absolutely gorgeous! Your photos are amazing. I have to go to the kitchen and make something to eat now because that seafood cataplana made my mouth water.

You have to try it!
You won't regret choosing it as a dish.
Thanks for your support :)

what are the ingredients of his gai

Great photos. That food looks delicious! It's making me hungry. And I love the rock formations. Another place I need to visit.

Thanks for checking my post out!
The food really was delicious and worth trying out!
Food really makes my travels all that much better.
The rock formations were very unique and made walking along the beach very interesting.
When you go up close to them you really get the feeling that you want to study them as well.
Hope you get to visit soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62606.46
ETH 3024.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90