[Portugal Adventure] Who's ready for an awesome view? [Best place to relax and hang out in Porto (imo)]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Fellow Steemians

Today was my last full day in Porto before I go off to Lisbon and I think I saved the best view for last!

The weather forecast said that it would rain today and I was a bit disheartened by it as I saw that it was wet outside when I woke up. But, it didn't stay that way for long! Soon after I left my accommodation, the sky cleared and the sun shone through. I knew from that sign that today was going to be good day. And guess what, it was!

Since today was the last full day I get when I'm in Porto, I wanted to see the city from the ground level and the upper level. So, I went down to the waterside to take some pictures and to a high point where I could see all of the city.

My favourite view of Porto!


Nata Lisboa

@kellykim and I didn't have breakfast before we left the house so we went to find something nice to nibble on and what better to nibble on than the egg tarts that we could see everywhere! So, we searched online to see where was the best place we could get some and we found Nata Lisboa, a cafe near Sao Bento Railway Station.

In terms of the coffee, I can't say it was the best I had and the sandwich they gave wasn't that special either. But, the egg tart was delicious! Nice and gooey in the centre and extremely flaky on the outside, just how I like it :) I had the "Nata Lisboa Breakfast set" that came with a sandwich, egg tart and a hot drink and added another coffee on top for a total of 5.6 Euros

So shiny and enticing!

Nice and gooey just how I like it

Sao Bento Railway Station

After having our small breakfast, we decided to go check out the Railway Station near the cafe since it was high on the list of must-dos in Porto. After visiting the place, I would say that it is a must do as well.

The inside had walls with blue and white tiles that displayed a detailed art piece that one could stare at for a long time. But, other than that the whole place just had an air of history that automatically instilled a sense of respect for the building. I know it sounds weird, but you'll just have to trust me on that.

Ponte Louis Bridge

What followed was my favourite part of the whole trip. We walked past the Sao Bento Railway Station towards the river until we hit the Ponte Louis Bridge. I had seen the bridge from the ground before and to be honest I thought it was nothing all that special. But, one I got up there, I saw the city in a whole new light that made me fall in love with Porto even more.

Our little friend

Then, once I walked all the way across the bridge, and sat down on an elevated position near the footpath towards the cable cars, I could say that I had found the pinnacle of my experience in Porto. With the seagulls flying around, the massive bridge to one side, the river down below and the colourful buildings in the background, I didn't want to move at all. I sat there for a good 1.5-2hrs with @kellykim appreciating the view. It truly was breathtaking!

Just sit back and relax

@kellykim and me!



Mira Jazz

Once it got too cold to stay up there any longer, we decided to go check out the jazz bar the waiter at Porta 4 yesterday recommended us to go. The trip down from the high point down to the river side was interesting and the trip there in itself was an experience.

Tiring walk up these steps

The jazz bar actually didn't have a live band like I thought it would and had a speaker playing the music. But, I could tell the owner had good taste which made it okay. We decided to go with the port wine because it was what Porto was famous for and WOW it was delicious!!! I'm not a massive fan of wines, but after what he offered us, I can now say that I'm a fan of Porto wine. It was 4 euro per glass which I thought was really reasonable too!

Candid

While sipping on the wine, the sight of the birds flying in the sky and the setting sun made us relax and enjoy yet another side of Porto. The day just kept getting better and better.

Ris8tto da baixa

We left the jazz bar at around 6 to go have our dinner. It had been a long time since we had eaten and all the walking had left us famished. Then suddenly it started raining cats and dogs!!!! So, we quickly power walked/ran to our dinner choice at Ris8tto da baixa since @kellykim had heard some good things about the risotto.

All the choice were below 10 euros so it was a good choice in terms of price and the serving size was just right too. Also, you could tell that they only used very fresh ingredients and the flavour was abundant. A very good meal indeed!

Shrimp ris8tto

Caprese ris8tto


After the meal we decided to head home in an Uber (Uber is very cheap here!) since @kellykim was sick. I'm sad to leave Porto tomorrow but also excited to see what Lisbon has in store! Please wish @kellykim some good luck and lets hope she gets better soon!


UPVOTE | FOLLOW | COMMENT

I'm @peterkkim96 and as always, THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

This is quite an impressive collection of photos, both in number an quality. I might take another look at that egg tart, it looked delish

Thank you! Your words mean a lot to me.
Put a lot of effort into the post and to hear that is like music to my ears!
I really was delish, you should definitely try it out !
Hope you have a great day :D

To travel and to eat are one of the marvels of the life and if they share with a dear person many mas and your you combine them in this post! Beautiful! Congratulations

I definitely agree!
Traveling and eating good food is so high on my list that I could say that they're first and second!
Thanks so much for your comment and support :)
It means a lot!

Release the Kraken! You got a 42.08% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @peterkkim96!

You got a 1.57% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @peterkkim96! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=peterkkim96
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=portugal-adventure-who-s-ready-for-an-awesome-view-best-place-to-relax-and-hang-out-in-porto-imo


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I visited Lisbon and ate those delicious pastries too. You can see my pictures https://steemit.com/travel/@mikestrange/my-lisbon-portugal-travel-photos . Thank you for sharing:-)

Wow looks like your experience was as good as mine!

Big and interesting article! Portugal is very beautiful country. Thanks for efforts to create this post.

Thanks for you comment!
It means a lot to me.
Hope you check in again!

Thanks for visiting :)

thanks for such a nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93