Cityscape Photography: Victoria, capital city of Maltese island of Gozo

in #travel6 years ago

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Honestly, I do not know whether photocontests (formerly) hosted by @juliank are still on but I was so used to them that I will still probably be arranging most of my posts according to the original schedule and Wednesday used to be dedicated to the landscape and cityscape photography.

I have already published a few posts about the beautiful little island of Gozo where I lived for some time a couple of years ago, for example this post about Marsalforn, but as far as I rememeber, I have not told you anything about the capital city of the island - Victoria.

IMG_20131228_161824.jpg

Well, the word "city" might not be very suitable here as Victoria is home to just some 7,000 people and it only occupies 3 sq km (1 sq mi). But what this "city" lacks in size, it greatly makes up for in beautiful architecture and a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

Victoria was named after the famous British Queen in 1887 on the occasion of the Queen´s Golden Jubilee but many local people still call the town "Rabat" which is the former official name of it.

Found in the central part of the island, the town is dominated by the citadel. This majestic structure was built on what used to be an ancient fortress since possibly as early as the Neolithic era. Throughout the millennia, the citadel has been developed and reconstructed by numerous nations and civilizations including the Phoenicians and the Aragonese.

IMG_20131228_162214.jpg

I am sorry about the poor quality of the photos but back then, I had a terrible cell phone with even more terrible camera but hopefully, this post still helped you get some idea of what this tiny charming town looks like :)



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!

Sort:  

Hello phortin Victoria Island is very nice little and less population 7,000 but beautiful arthieccture. really this place good for visiting.
Thanks for sharing this charming please.

Tak Victoria zůstává na mém seznamu pro příští cestu... Tři dny jsou prostě málo ;)
Díky aslepoň za fotky ;)

Jasně, Viktorku zvládnete příště :) Je to vlastně jediné město na Gozu, zbytek jsou spíš vesničky.

Nice to see your pictures of Victoria @phortun.

I just got back from a short trip to Gozo but, sadly, didn't make it to the Citadel again. It's quite changed now with the renovations. Maybe next time. 😁

Oh really? I would love to see it again. I hope you had a lovely time on Gozo :)

I did thank you @phortun. It gave me plenty of material for posts. I've been doing one a day since I got back. 😊

Looks like a fun place to explore!

It is! :) Small but very interesting. Thanks for stopping by my fellow nomad :)

The arcitecture looks amazing. So much history there. I would love to see it.

Thank you Beth, it is a very interesting place to explore indeed. History dating back to millennia ago all around you :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cityscape-photography-victoria-capital-city-of-maltese-island-of-gozo


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has received a 7.68 % upvote from @boomerang.

You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @liltammy

We have planted already 4670.76 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20565.54
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99