I miss you, Vietnam.

in #travel6 years ago

PSX_20180623_150933.jpg
separator

I landed in Hanoi on my birthday.

I had no plans on how to get to my volunteer site, and it was really just a bunch of days just winging it. I had all my gear in my backpack and daypack, walking around like a giant suitcase. Getting on a bus in Vietnam with all your stuff is incredibly challenging. But after stuffing in like a bunch of sardines, it was all good.

I reached Hai Phong and it was a very nice change from the noisy, hustle and bustle streets of Hanoi.

This had more of a small town feel. I couldn't speak any Vietnamese and most of them really couldn't speak English. And all of them really didn't think I could speak English because of my Thai face. Overall it is really entertaining for all of us to speak to each other in body language, some things in Thai, English, and little Vietnamese words I've learned on the way.

I saw bamboo bongs all over the place! I thought I reached the jackpot; the ganja haven of Vietnam.

It wasn't weed they were all commonly smoking. It is called thuoc lao. A wild grown tobacco that really knocks you off your feet.

PSX_20180623_151313.jpg
separator

It was a great way to start introductions here in Hai Phong.

You'd walk into a street food corner, some dudes are waving at you to invite you over, you take a rip, and they get a kick out of seeing you get 'schwifty cause you can't pick up the straw to drink your coconut juice.

I met some really cool people from all over the world here in the volunteer site.

It was a warming experience to be here to teach English because it was different for them to have an Asian teacher for once. They usually learned British English here in the north, so it was refreshing to listen to my 'Merica twang.

PSX_20180623_151918.jpg
separator

I bought a motorcycle

And faced my traffic fears. Monsoon and flooding fears. Running out of gas in the middle of a freeway entrance for cars fears. It was an incredibly overwhelming journey of a silly tourist really out to learn about how amazing the country is. How the little ones are so independent than their western counterparts. How motorcycle maintenance is a wonderful hobby that I wish to keep with me always.

PSX_20180623_151722.jpg
separator

I think everyone should experience Vietnam.

For all that it is, and what you'll run into there. An adventure here will always have you think back to the photographic memories of the places you've been. The people who have warmly welcomed you into their abodes. The silly scammers and the young children hustling into the wake of the sun. The delicious foods that change in taste and style while keeping a consistent Vietnamese cusine. The endless youngsters that come in with lost puppy eyes and end up feeling a stronger footing after their time here.

All of it is a beautiful struggle that the country has gone through and still preserves their wonderful ageless culture.

Thank you for being here :)

footer

Sort:  

The pictures are beautiful!

Thank you :) I hope to learn more Vietnamese when I get another chance to explore Vietnam again!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by poodai from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71