I got an RV!

in #travel6 years ago

Taking a huge leap with this one. It is an 86' Chevy 31 feet long with 84,000 miles. New brakes, new tires, and new wires. Not to shabby right?
5197C4B4-CD87-4732-A25F-AD7C99B145C8.jpeg

Until she doesn't hit 20mph on the freeway and starts to overheat 😅 for those who don't know AAA premier does NOT cover RV's unless you pay more and add it to your coverage ..... CRAP!
So two tow trucks later and a $400 out of pocket expense, I now know this.
73644DBF-D3D6-43B5-8654-5498318F88CE.jpeg

However
As I was waiting for the tow truck to come I had the best encounter with a police officer I have ever had. The sun was coming up and then I notice a car pulled up behind me. Usually my intuitive cop radar would had he been off the charts but I did not realize it was a cop car at all. I hopped out of my seat to greet this person then I realized it is an undercover cop car as the lights began to flash upon my approach. E6896F3D-0223-401B-87E2-BD911DE8D6BE.jpeg
I was alarmed and held my hands in front of me where they could be clearly seen. The officer got out of his car and asked me if everything was alright. This was the nicest thing any officer had ever said to me. He never even asked for my identification. My mind continued to be uplifted when he even offered to give me a jump, how cool is that! Isn't that what our civil servants supposed to do, help the people! This interaction have me hope for the police population. He even offered to sit in his car with the lights on until he got dispatched somewhere else, (for my safety on the side of the freeway.)

I had so much to reflect on after this adventure. Each tow truck driver met I think we added to each other just through conversation. The last driver works so much all the time he did not even know about the winter storms that had been hitting the east coast. Oh man, and this guy has such bad back problems I was happy to get the opportunity to tell him about Kratom.

I'm Greatful the universe keeps bringing the right people into my life. I affirm my good health and attitude comes back to me many fold.

But let's be clear I do think it is very healthy to express frustrations and concerns in appropriate moments. For example .... When your vehicle you just bought breaks down on the side of the road and AAA does not cover it...... You can yell a good "FUuuuuCKkkkkk ARG" when you sit perplexed with the smell of burning RV filling your nostrils.
Then just let it go when you get home 13 hours later and the sun is sparking on the moss of your new RV.
8B8C7F09-11E6-4652-A7A8-8915A41262D9.jpeg
Oh goodness...... Any RV tips?
There are several things that could of caused the lack of speed and overheating.

  1. dude who looked at the RV before I bought it messed with spark plugs, he could have put them back in the wrong order....
  2. tow truck guy fund a 2x4 wedged in one of the rear doulies.....
  3. It appeared to have plenty of coolant in the overflow tank, however it has nearly no coolant in the engine.

At this point I am going to start with a new battery!

Thanks for listening to another spontaneous moment in my life! @portiajay
690F813F-2517-4480-9000-6B2DEFC166F8.jpeg
Hahaha I have this fierce look in my eye after being awake, pissed off and patient for 13hours past bedtime.

Sort:  

Another warning I like to give to you about AAA is that..... do NOT use their registered mechanics. I got scammed by a AAA mechanic recently claiming he did all these things to my Jeep which he didn't. I went through hell dealing with this shady mechanic. After 8 months I am still disputing the charges with AAA and my credit card company.

Any mechanic can easily register as AAA mechanic. You would think that AAA mechanics are competent and of higher standards. The two that I have ran into were NOT. Both times I filed a complaint and AAA won't take any actions against them.

USE AAA for their roadside assistance program but don't use their registered mechanics.

I agree, like doctors, teachers, even hairstylists I much rather have my own trusted people I go to. My friend had a nightmare of a time when her car broke down in Idaho. The AAA driver dropped her off at the drivers friends mechanics shop. She basically ended up at these crazy red neck tweaker house where they took apart her whole dash. She had to hotwire her own car just to get out of there. 😳

RVs are really difficult to maintain and not too many mechanics can work on them.

I thought about buying one but I after carefully thinking about the pros and cons, I would rather buy a teardrop camper.

I here you! It was a tough decision. But it's going to cost me less than a uhaul to move from Oregon to the four corners.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

@portiajay
Interesting story, looks like a cool RV, to bad it broke down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68518.46
ETH 3760.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66