The meaning of life is finding meaning in life

in #travel6 years ago

I went for a run last night in Perth. It is such a beautiful city, especially from South Perth. The vista of the city skyline overlooking the Swan River is magical.

IMG_20180905_054225_908.jpg

The 10k around Perth from the city side, then over to South Perth has to be one of my favourite runs in Australia. Partially because of the amazing views, and partially because it's pretty much spot on 10k! There's a video/flyover of the run produced from Strava at the link below.

Relive 'Perth'

I love the view of the city from Elizabeth Quay as well. I'm usually in 2 minds when I'm running on whether I stop for a photo or not, it messes with my rhythm, but then the scene here is so awesome I just had to stop. The wildflowers are coming out in Western Australia at the moment, since we've just moved into Spring. It's been such a wet Winter over here in the west, a stark contrast to the extreme dry in the East.

IMG_20180905_054225_907.jpg

I read an article over breakfast this morning that suggested that the meaning of life is simply that humans attempt to find meaning in life. It's an interesting take, since we think that humans are separated from the rest of the life on this planet by our 'consciousness', or the awareness that we are alive and interacting with the planet. There have been some psychology studies on chimps to discover whether they possess 'consciousness' but I must admit I don't know the outcome of these studies.

Certainly it's an interesting theory to suggest that the meaning of life is that humans can discern meaning... something to ponder for the day!

Sort:  

Welcome back to the west! We've had a lot of rain over the winter period, so the flowers are exceptuonally good around the parks and gardens. The city skyline is definitely worth stopping to admire on a good day.

Next time you're over this way let me know and I'll try to meet you for a coffee or something.

Cheers @bmj - had a pretty busy schedule this time, but I'll be back! Went down to Margaret River & Busselton yesterday. Nice part of the world.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82