๐ŸŒง ๐ŸŒฑ Rain - Natural Beauty and Spa ๐ŸŒง๐ŸŒฑ

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Over the Christmas holidays my hubs @morkrock and I went away for a few days to see our family and just chill in general. We drove out to Swellendam, which is a teensy little dorpie or town about three hours out of Cape Town.

Swellendam is the greenest, smallest town I have seen. It has this quaint old-timey feeling, mainly due to the stunning old buildings that are all over. Most of the older buildings have thatched roofs.

IMG_4791.jpgIMG_4789.jpg

There's not much to do except EAT. There are something like 35 restaurants in the town, and it's only about four roads large! It's one of those places that you go to chill the fok out, unwind, read a book, take in some history, and get a massage.

One of my favourite attractions in Swellendam is the Rain Spa. Rain is an ethical, organic from the earth spa and beauty product store. I was already familiar with the brand as there is a branch here in Cape Town, but I was keen to visit their Swellendam store too.

I really wanted to fit in a massage or treatment, but our stay in Swellendam was short and there wasn't much time. The treatments all use from-the-earth products, and have names such as Metamorphis, Cocoon, and Elephant Walk. Focusing on African ingredients and experiences, it sounds a little pretentious but I was very keen to try it out.

We did have time to check out the retail store, and I was able to purchase a few of the luxurious soaps and bath salt concoctions. They have stunning massage bars, which are compact oils, which melt upon touching skin.

IMG_4811.jpg

I really liked the experience of being in the store. The products smelt amazing, and there was an incredible bright light, with lots of green plants and creepers everywhere.

IMG_4812.jpg

The soaps are all natural, and the shop assistant told me that each bar has about six people in the manufacturing process. I was also excited to hear that Rain has a training system for therapists, or trainee therapists, from disadvantaged areas. If a therapist trains through their program, they are also first to be considered for employment in the Rain spas. I really loved hearing that, as I am so passionate about giving back to communities.

IMG_4813.jpgIMG_4814.jpgIMG_4815.jpg

When we got back to Cape Town, I was so excited to try out some of the products, but my massage bar (the item I was most looking forward to using) had melted on the journey home! I was SO sad! Lulz. Summer in Africa, hey.

Rain has branches all over South Africa, and there are even a few abroad, in Manhattan, California and Ireland. You can find out more about them here.

I hope you enjoyed this little snippet of my holiday, and that I was able to properly portray to you my experience, but if you felt that I did not (or even that I did) please let me know in your comments below. Feedback and criticism is important, as we cannot move forward without knowing if we have made mistakes, or have room for improvement.

mewmewfooter.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort: ย 

Those pics are nice! And that spa looks very big with tons of products, but since I donโ€™t know much about spas I cannot give a proper opinion about them LOL

That sun from Africa must be similar to the one we have here in Venezuela, +30 Celsius degrees ALL year along. I want a little snow please โ„๏ธ โ›„๏ธ

Haha, yes it is VERY hot here too. Not quite 35โ€™c (thatโ€™s only on the hottest days) and our winters can be freezing (5โ€™C).

I didnโ€™t knew you had winter there! Then that weather is better, here we donโ€™t have winter, just some rainy days with minimum 20โ€™C on those days. The normal temperature here is about 30โ€™C every day ๐Ÿ˜ญ

Oh no I will die! I love good weather and getting out and about in it, bit Cape Town weather is coollld! I love it. Lots of blankets and cuddles.

I'm sorry that you didn't have time for a massage, place looks awesome.

Hehe, me too! Itโ€™s ok - next time!

your picture image is always the best...do you use camera or phone to snap it? @princessmewmew

Thank you thatโ€™s very kind. I use my iPhone 6s, but then I always make increase the contrast and brightness in a photo editor. It helps a lot. X

woow that is cool...i guess i have to buy an iphone now...lol..i have vote adscatly as witness too..because you are the best...will start promoting it in my blog too

Thatโ€™s awesome, appreciate that very much !

what you and mork did for me...was unbelievable ...so the best i can do is to support the society and make it grow...it my dream that we will get to the top..we can..and will do it too

Ah no man! We just helped you a little bit. Anyone would have done it xxx

The little was more than enough for me ...thank you

Well enjoyed Holiday

I really like the all white theme the store uses. Almost reminds me of an Apple Store.

Haha!! Yes, an organic apple store ๐Ÿ˜ the white is very calming and serene

Lovely post , had no idea that there is a RAIN Spa ?!
I love RAIN Products !!
The Angel dust bath salts is amazing, has golden shimmer it.

Yes there is. Iโ€™ve wlways wanted to go! One day!

Nice to see you steeming again missy x

Woah..what a great tour . Yeah you really misses the massage because you made so much emphasis on it but sure you getting the soap and others serve as a real time outing with .and it's such amazing such a place got lots of places to have fun .and in no doubt,you have shared your how your spent you holiday with those lovely pictures. You sure desire natural skin beautification which is very good.. thanks for sharing .

Yeah, I was a bit bummed but itโ€™s all good! Thanks for stopping by!

The pictures are amazing. Your visit to your family In Swellendam really worth the effort. I will Sincerely say I know nothing about spa. This post has just encourage me to do more research on that.thanks for sharing this post.

Pleasure. Glad to share with you x

What's amazing about your post is the diversity we see around the world. There are so many misperceptions out there and your photos bring out the beauty that exists throughout the world. Awesome!

South Africa in particular is exceptionally diverse.

Thanks for stopping by!

Your picture quality always attract me to you really if I had that opportunity of massages I would stil be there by now nice time you had there thanks for sharing please go low me let me see more of your post @juli1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74