Travel back to home! Siliguri | A small Foot Hill | Darjeeling

in #travel6 years ago

Hey, I'm Pritam Banikk. I stay in Kolkata (one of the metro cities of India) for my college. I'm 540 Kms. away from home for studies.

On the 10th of January, a sudden food poisoning makes me feel homesick. I call my dad and ask him if I could fly back home? Though by train it is only a 12 hour overnight journey but the tickets reservation might take days. I book a 50$ Air ticket to IXB (Bagdogra Airport, the nearest airport to Siliguri also the only place to land if you plan to go to Darjeeling)

image.png
(This Image is for representation only, I couldn't catch a picture.)

I landed in Bagdogra, and my brother drove me back to siliguri. It is approximately a 40 minute drive from bagdogra Airport to Siliguri town.

Where is Siliguri ?
image.png
(Image from Google, and this place really looks like this. A straight drive from this bridge will take you to the hills.)

Siliguri is the second largest place in the Indian state of West Bengal. It is the foot hill to the Darjeeling. If you ever visit Darjeeling, you will have to drive by Siliguri. Did I tell you how beautiful the foot hill is?

We've got Tea Gardens, beautiful landscapes, cold waters running down the rivers, a well settled civilization through the rivers and small villages all across. Siliguri is one of the fastest growing towns of India.

We've also got beautiful cuisines like Momos, a kind of staple food that everybody likes. Sort of dumpling, If you call it.

image.png

(Image from google again, this will cost you anything around $0.31 per plate to 1$ at most places.)

me.jpg

(This is how home feels like)

market.jpg
(Bidhan Market, Siliguri)

pizza making.jpg
(We also made Pizza, my brother actually makes it really good!)

pizza pic.jpg

(This is how it looked)

Also, on the 22nd of Jan, it was one of Bengal's biggest festival, Saraswati Puja.
We pray to goddess Saraswati and ask her blessings for our studies, and knowledge that will help us build our career and empower us.)

image.png

(Google Image used for representation only)

And Yeah, I also have a cute niece. She stays in kolkata. I missed her during these days. So we used to talk over video calls. Often several times a day, but this is how it would get started.

saraswati puja.jpg
U5dr1F99xBsJ1Z8wYAVALQWfTv5Phke_1680x8400.png

The internet connectivity wasn't good that day as I was on 3G but this is how she looks like..

ruhi saraswati.jpg

(Cute? I know right!)

Met my old Friends, spent some really good time. You know how it feels like.

IMG_20180122_160451864_HDR.jpg

U5dr4vcCXwRixWoJe6NWgUa37L2CjCg_1680x8400.jpg

And then, Good times come to end quick. I'm back after 15 days.

(Do you think I should resume my studies, now? Oh! Okaaaaay! )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70427.25
ETH 3798.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50