Cocktails and Beverages in Bali

in #travel6 years ago

bridges cocktails.jpg
Cocktails at Bridges Restaurant, Ubud

As a follow-up to my post about the wonderful and delicious cuisine available in Bali, I would like to share some of my experiences with the wide variety of cocktails, beer, and non-alcoholic beverages available in Bali. It's hot in Bali! Thankfully there is an abundance of cold beverages available all over the island to help you beat the heat. Along with bottled drinks like beer, soda and water, you can also find lots of fresh juices, a variety of fresh herbal teas, and great mixed drinks.

Read About Bali's Cuisine Here- https://steemit.com/bali/@quantumtravels/the-amazing-cuisine-of-bali

- Bottled Water
Not exciting, but very important. The tap water in Bali is not considered safe to drink unless you live in Indonesia, so you will need to rely on bottled water to stay hydrated. Bottled water is available pretty much everywhere you go and is generally very inexpensive. You can get large bottles of water from any convenience store for less than $1 USD (IDR equivalent) You will want to stay stocked up in your room, and carry water everywhere you go. You do not want to get dehydrated on your vacation, so keep drinking water!
The good news is the ice you will be served in your drinks is safe. I had many drinks with ice in Bali over a couple of weeks and never got sick. The ice you will see in hotels, restaurants and bars comes from filtered water and is machine made. If you are at all skeptical about the ice that you see, you may want to avoid it, but I was never worried about ice that I was served.

bintang pool.jpg
Cheers! Bintang at the Pool, The Patra Hotel, Kuta

-Beer
I'm a beer drinker, and thankfully there was no shortage of suds in Bali. You will see several varieties of imported beer in Bali but I like to stick to the local stuff. There are a few varieties of Indonesian beer served on the island. The most prevalent, and my favorite was Bintang. You will find the green Bintang bottles of beer almost everywhere you go. Bintang is a lighter pilsener style and it is a perfect beverage for the hot Bali days. Whether you are hanging out on the beach, relaxing by the pool, or enjoying a meal a cold Bintang is a perfect accompaniment. Bintang is relatively cheap. You can expect to find bottles ranging between $0.75-$4 USD depending on where you go.

cocktails.jpg
Couple of Cocktails. Refresh, Ubud

-Cocktails
Mixology is alive and well on the island of Bali. You can find classic and creative concoctions all over the island. Each bar you visit is likely to have something unique so make sure to try out many of the wide varieties of beverages that are available. I found lots of happy hour specials in Bali at many different bars and restaurants. If you go out at the right times you can find 2 for one specials at many bars. Mixed drinks in Bali are more expensive than beer, most drinks that I found were around $7 USD, but at 2 for 1 prices, that's $3.50 USD each. Not a bad deal.

cucumber cooler better.jpg
Cucumber Cooler, Sri Ratih Cottages, Ubud

watermel mojito.jpg
Watermelon Mojito. De Warung, Ubud

-Spa Drinks and Fresh Juices
Attend one of Bali's many spas and you will likely be met with a welcome drink of fresh herbal tea. Each spa has their own homemade concoction and I found all of them to be delightful. Some spas will have a choice of flavors and even have hot or cold options. You will definitely want to visit some spas during your vacation in Bali for their amazing treatments, the delicious teas are a bonus!
In most restaurants you will find a selection of fresh squeezed juices. I loved the varieties of melon juices served at our daily hotel breakfast. You will also see young coconut milk served in the shell, and lots of different types of smoothies and juice mixes in Bali. There are lots of combinations that are worth trying, and they are so delicious. Very few juices are served from concentrate on the island, enjoy the freshness while you are there!

spa tea.jpg
Cold Herbal Tea with Fruit after spa treatment. Murni's Spa, Ubud

If you are a soda drinker, don't worry. Coca-Cola has a heavy presence in Bali too, as they do everywhere else in the world. You can find most of your everyday drinks from home in Bali, but I definitely recommend trying something a little different on the island. There are so many delicious options. I found myself with several drinks on the table several times when I just couldn't decide on one.

lots o drinks.jpg
Young Coconut, Bintang, and Fresh Juices. Karsa Spa, Campuhan Ridge Walk, Ubud

If you have been to Bali, what are some of your favorite drinks from the island? If you're planning a trip to Bali soon and need any information, post your questions in the comments section below and I'll be sure to help out with what I can. Bali is such a wonderful vacation spot!

Sort:  

Hopefully the drinks are as cheap as everything else in Bali (I heard it's cheap).

Yes it is. Also beautiful and fun place to visit.

Exotic drinks for an exotic location

Makes me want to visit Bali.

How did you find the prices overall in Bali? I am yet to travel to South East Area, it is certainly on my list. I lived in Sydney for 5 years, which is close to Bali, it's amazing how we often avoid travelling our own backyard first!

I found prices to be very reasonable. Nightly hotels at 4+ star accommodation rand between $60-$80 USD nightly, typical meal for 2 with drinks was less than $30 USD, and daily activities varied by price, but I would not consider anything to be expensive in the areas I stayed in. (primarily Ubud, and Kuta area) Of course, you can find expensive meals and hotels, and very cheap locations in Bali. Depends on what you are looking for, but I found myself having a ton of fun and very comfortable for relatively low prices.

Such a beautiful post. Now have to make plans for Bali.. bali here I come.....

I have never eaten it, but I have great desire

Those fresh juices looks so yummy tho!

Nice post about food Bali. I expect more visitors from outside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87