Short stop in Oslo | Norway | August | 2015

in #travel6 years ago

The only two words I could think of when I heard about Norway are: cold and expensive.
Am I the only one? That’s why I wasn’t particularly interested going there.

When I was looking for the cheapest way to get to SE Asia and found out that Norwegian flies from Oslo to Bangkok for as little as £140. Ridiculously cheap right? The next cheapest flight I could find at that time, back in 2015 was almost double the price. So I booked it and decided to spend 3 days in that Scandinavian country’s capital.
I have to admit that I was wrong about Oslo, because capital of Norway has so much to offer! I felt in love with the sculpture park and the port area, but my definitely favourite part was big white opera house which was build just few years ago. It’s really impressive, have a look at the pictures below! You can climb its roof which stretches all the way to the pavement. When you reach the top you can see more interesting architecture and nature around. Roof has irregular shape which makes the whole building look even more amazing. I would go back to Oslo just to walk on that roof again, mostly because it gives great photography opportunities. How much I wish I was better at photography back then!
6.jpg
I had great time in Oslo not only because there’s so much to see in lively capital of Norway, but because I was hosted by a really easygoing and welcoming Sverre. That was my 3rd Couchsurfing experience back then and I couldn’t have found better person. We watched Norwegian TV in the evenings and talked about everything we could think of. On his day off he took me around and showed a nice view point just by the sky jumping arena. You get such a different experience of the place when locals show you around. Check out Couchsurfing or Meetup websites to make a local friend!

Ever since my trip to Oslo I feel like I enjoy traveling more, because instead of deeply researching the destinations I let them surprise me with what they have to offer! So I just ramble around, always look up and appreciate every little detail of the place.

Kasia

Would you like to see more pictures ? Go on https://www.rambelife.net/norway to see more !

3.jpg![5.png]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71