Reisronddewereld #10 Swimming too the Benagil Cave

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys!

Last summer I went to Portugal for the first time to do a roadtrip through the Algarve. In my last blog you can read where I went and how I got around. One thing I didn't mention in my last blog was the beautiful Benagil cave. One of the most famous caves in Portugal. Let me tell you how to get there, how to beat the crowd and what to look out for.

benagil_cave-_algarve.jpg

So, to get to the Benagil cave you can book a tour or go there by car on your own. From all over the Algarve tours are being offered, but because I like to do things myself and because we had a rental car we drove to Benagil. In Benagil you can find Praia de Benagil, where the cave is located. We parked our car about 10 minutes walking from the beach. Because we saw a lot of people walking around near the parking area we decided to look what was there. If you follow the people, or just walk more to the east, you will find the opening of the cave. There's a fence around the opening so you can't fall in.

Because the inside of the cave was way prettier I'll tell you more about how to get there! When you follow the road down to the beach you'll probably end up on a very crowded beach. If you want to have a relaxed day on the beach then defenitely don't pick this beach. From the beach you can go by boat and visit more caves in one boattrip or you can rent a kayak when the weather allows it.

b7023a18df7f287b8036cdacc5bd37fa.jpg

Praia-de-Benagil3.jpg

Because I didn't think it was really far to swim to the opening of the cave we decided to go for a swim and check it out. When we where in Benagil the sea wasn't that wild, but be careful when the water is wild because you are swimming right past the high rocks.

After a three minute swim you'll already see the entrance of the cave. The boats filled with people that go in and out of the cave are used to people swimming to the caves so they will have an eye out for you. Still of course watch out! When entering the cave keep in mind that the waves can be pretty big, but once you're inside it's all worth it.

The boat tours don't actually go inside. They just go in a little and then they sail off to the next cave. When you swim inside the cave you can decide how long you want to stay. Even though the boats don't stop, there were still quite some people inside when we where there. We stayed for around 20 minutes and then we swam back to the beach. If you're ever near Benagil and you have a chance to pay a visit to the cave I'd really recommend it!

tumblr_oxwff1o0G01uuk340o1_500.jpg

Have you ever visited the Benagil cave or do you know any other great caves?

Marleen

non of the pictures are taken by me, I did bring my underwater camera but unfortunately it didn't survive

Sort:  

Its Amazing dear keep it up I always wait for your posts thanks for sharing

Thank you so much! Your comment put a smile on my face :)

You are welcome dear hope you will visit my blog thanks

I followed you :)

Looks like an awesome spot. Something out of a movie. I've never been - but maybe one day.

Haha yes it does! But in real life it’s way more crowded than the pictures make it seem like. Exactly, maybe one day!

This post has received a 7.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @reisronddewereld.

Wow....it really looks amazing, i will make sure to visit one of these days....thanks @reisronddewereld for the useful information.

You're welcome! yeah it's really impressive once you're in the cave!

My brother did this in 2016 and got a severe flu, not a good idea it turned to be for him.

Oh no! that's no fun. I'm happy i didn't got the flu when i was there!

Looks like a very beautiful place.

Nice! Hope you enjoyed so much here! :)

I did, thanks! 😊

Wow! Such a spectacular view. I'd love to go there one day :)

if you have the chance you should! :)

I'll definitely do that :)

Awesome post. Thanks for sharing ;)

You got a 3.35% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @reisronddewereld!

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54