You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #TRAVELPERSPECTIVE: The Local People's Reality Is Not A Zoo!

in #travel6 years ago

Some of the rudest people I've met while traveling, are in the hostels. They stick to their own groups, and when a outsider interrupts for just a second to say hello, somethimes they get all condescending about it. Sometimes people are tired and emotionally worn out, but some travelers alone are lonely, and need someone to share their emotions with. Even if someone seems odd to you, it's good to make them feel welcome, because they have spent a lot of money to go on their vacation, and their time is just as valuable as anyone else's. We don't have to accept all forms of bad behavior, but we need to develop a culture of lieutenancy, and make the enjoyment of the trip a higher priority over being hard on others who mess up a bit.

Sort:  

I have absolutely no problem with tourists being rude to me (as another tourist). In fact, the people I am referring to in my post were extremely friendly and nice towards everyone. And even if they weren't I wouldn't be upset because I know how people are and why they can be rude.
But this is besides the point, because it's not about me as a tourist cutting other tourists some slack. It's about me as a tourist observing how many tourists behave towards locals, their privacy and their culture - and treating it like a playground or zoo. And this, in my view, is not to be excused with them wanting to get something in return for the money they spent - this would even further reduce the local people's worth to that of a amusement park inventory!

Again, I am not complaining about tourists being rude against other tourists. I couldn't care less (personally). I am denouncing inappropriate, ignorant and egocentric behavior towards locals and their privacy - which they do not have to "understand" or "forgive" (because tourists do not have a good enough reason, however shitty their lives back home are). wdyt?

You have to look at the context, when the photo is taken. If people are going into houses, and taking pictures without permission, it's bad. Tourist are going to push the limits. For example, if a kid has a monkey on their back, someones going to be tempted to take a photo. They might not even stop and think if it's appropriate. I guess in a way, i'm uncomfortable. Your post made made me realize a few mistakes I've made, that I would of never thought of. I've been one of those arrogant tourist before.

I do see the context - it's just not an excuse. I like your honesty here, much appreciated. As I wrote, though, I've been one of those before, too.

Thanks for your contributions to this! Much appreciated :)

If you're up for a challenge, I'm running a contest on my channel. With your travel experience, you might be able to provide an amazing response. The winner will be selected on March 1st.

https://steemit.com/adventure/@remotediscovery/comments-contest-where-do-you-want-to-go-on-your-next-vacation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68403.29
ETH 3749.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66