Bode Museum - Skimmed ATM card - Beautiful Berlin

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was an interesting day for me here in a Berlin. I spent some time in a nice park, went to the Bode Museum, had my ATM card 'skimmed', and watched the Mayweather fight in an Irish pub in Far East Berlin.

The parks here are great. People from all walks of life come to the parks to drink beers, BBQ, and just enjoy life. There are no laws against open bottles in public.

Behind the park I visited is a place called Bode Museum. It is filled with art from the Byzantine empire through last century. Entry cost 10 Euro. I spent about an hour just strolling through the different rooms taking photos.

When I first got here, I used an ATM that looked relatively secure. It was directly across road from my hostel. Unfortunately someone had set a 'scimming' device on or near it(I'm not sure how they work) and they also somehow got my pin...even though I cover the keypad. I figured it out 2 days afterwards. When they had already drained account. I will get the money back, but it was unfortunately my only card with me. So now I either need to have new card shipped to my house, then forwarded to myself wherever I will be then, or just end my trip early and fly back to the states. I don't want to end early, but sometimes you have to do what you have to. I was able to get some money wired to me from the family, and also have some coin to work with. But, not having a card is an extremely large inconvenience.

IMG_1765.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75