5 things to do in Tenerife! A photo blog post of my time there. Laughs, exploration, getting lost and finding our way again.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Once upon a time I decided I just had to have some sun. Since my GF is a sun lover herself it didn't take me too long to convince her that going to Tenerife was the thing to do.

So based on our experience here are 5 things/places you have to visit/do when you're there.

1. Visiting Mt. Teide - a volcano in the middle of Tenerife

Tenerife-257.jpg

Tenerife-258.jpg

Just look at that majestic place. Whether you take the bus or drive yourself you better get ready for some breathtaking sights. When you're up there it gets surreal pretty fast. Rock formations all around and a layer of clouds so low you think you can touch them.
More information on Mt. Teide here.

2. Masca trail - a 6km trail from up in the mountains till way down to the ocean

Tenerife-175.jpg

Tenerife-2491.jpg

Tenerife-239.jpg

Tenerife-249.jpg

Masca trail was an adventure. The idea is simple - here's a trail, follow it and get to the beach where you get on a boat and enjoy a relaxing trip to the closest town. Wind in your hair and the feeling you've accomplished something.

But the thing is - that trail spirals through the valley with huge mountains on both sides and after some time you start to wonder if those 6km are really 6km. The sights are just phenomenal and you get to climb some rocks, go through some narrower paths trying not to fall into some stream nearby.

But please be advised that hiking shoes are very recommended. You get a good workout getting to the end. More information on Masca trail here.

3. Getting lost/exploring Tenerife's nature - wanderlust for the curious

Tenerife-24933.jpg

Tenerife-149.jpg

Tenerife-2492.jpg

Tenerife-136.jpg

Tenerife-148.jpg

I love exploring. Like - I seriously LOVE exploring. If it seems that there is no path to getting somewhere I'm like - fantastic, we're going there. When was the last time you just, you know, went? Like checking out what's behind that corner or what kind of pine cones are laying around in that forest. Tenerife's nature offers you such a relaxing exploration that you'll feel like a kid again.

4. Enjoy a slow day by water - Siam water park

Tenerife-84.jpg

Tenerife-251.jpg

Tenerife-85.jpg

Tenerife-71.jpg

Tenerife-255.jpg

Tenerife-78.jpg

There's a certain kind of charm in sitting by the water knowing you don't have to do anything or be anywhere. Just there in the moment. The whole vibe is so peaceful and yet powerful. Loved the rocky shores and many cliffs where the waves crashed into.

Plus, there's the Siam park - rated nr. 1 in the world for the 4th year in a row. It'd be a shame if you went to Tenerife and didn't visit the local attraction of turquoise coloured pleasures.
More info on Siam park can be found here

5. Getting to know the town - cool places might be just around the corner

Tenerife-249.jpg

Tenerife-54.jpg

Tenerife-249111.jpg

Tenerife-164.jpg

Tenerife-24.jpg

When we arrived I remember being so excited to go out there and disover "that-super-awesome-restaurant-the-average-person-has-never-heard-of" and exactly that excitement was the reason I had such a blast just walking around being amazed at everything.

Tenerife is seriously colourful. Literally. The houses, the billboards, the trees, the sky, everything is so colourful making it an experience of itself just hanging out around the corner. Always news things to try.

Afterword

This is just my personal experience and I do realize I'm quite an enthusiastic person, but I'm pretty sure if you happen to be in Tenerife and try smth I mentioned you'd be happy you did. So - I wish you all sunny vacations!

If you liked my travel photographs consider checking out my instagram, sometimes I post travel photography there as well.

Sort:  

Congrats on joining Steemit!
The pictures are of top-notch​ quality!
You rock! 🤘🏼

Well thank you! Much appreciated! :)

Great photos! I've been to Tenerife a couple of times but not since I started shooting a bit more seriously. Your shots have me wishing I could go back and explore some more. We've been with the inlaws both times (my inlaws) and so we've ended up mostly going round markets and eating. We did get to Loro Parque and Siam Water Park. Siam was great fun with the kids !

Then just imagine what you could photograph when you finally do go back! It'd all be there in all it's glory! And we never did go to Loro Parque, wanted it, but kinda didn't find the time for it. Sadly. Well there is always next time! :)

EXCEPTIONAL SHOTS MY FRIEND!

Tenerifte is amazing! Was there last year and it's so awsome, I loved it. And, btw, your photos are great :)

Thank you! That's most kind of you to say that :)

I’m in awe over the quality of your photographs, like how is that even possible. Teach me!

Thank you! It's just the combination of natural light + the charms of Tenerife. You know how it is ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69358.02
ETH 3692.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.28