Corral de la Morería – The Cathedral of Flamenco ArtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG-0330.JPG


It’s funny how when it comes to travel, some of the best experiences and most memorable moments can come from activities that you initially weren’t all that keen to do. It’s happened to me a few times now, and serves as a reminder of the importance of keeping an open mind and being willing try things new things while you’re travelling.

Take Spanish flamenco. It’s not something that I have ever had any interest in, nor is it something that I ever imagined myself enjoying. In fact, initially, I was less than impressed when, during our most recent visit to Spain, my wife told me she wanted to booked us in for dinner and a show at one of Madrid’s most famous flamenco tablaos, Corral De La Moreria. I didn’t have anything better in mind, but I really wasn’t convinced.


IMG-0334.JPG


IMG-0335.JPG


When we got there, I immediately noticed that the venue was small, the stage was tiny, and clearly the owners were doing their level best to pack as many guests in as they could. I’d seen the impressive wall of photos at the entrance, row after row of smiling stars, politicians and other famous folk who’d visited, but I still wasn’t impressed.

Dinner was served quickly, and to my surprise was actually very good. The wine too was impressive and things were starting to look up.

Luckily for us, not only had my wife used her powers of persuasion to convince me that seeing a flamenco show was something that we should do, but somehow she’d also convinced the staff to seat us in the first row of tables, front and centre to the stage, in what could only be described as some of the best seats in the house.

Once the show got underway, it didn’t take long to realise that flamenco is so much more than I expected; as much about the music and song as it is about the dance. The rhythm of the Spanish guitar, the clapping, foot tapping and painful cry of the lead male singers was exciting and powerful, but when answered with the passion of the dance it became totally mesmerising and I was hooked.


IMG_7667.jpg


What started as a chore, a dinner I wasn’t keen to attend, ended up being the most memorable night we had in Spain. Flamenco is amazing, Corral De La Moreria absolutely deserves its reputation as the ‘Cathedral of flamenco art’, and I’m so very, very, glad that my wife convinced me that we should go.



Located in Madrid’s old town, Corral De La Moreria is easily accessible by taxi, and a three-course dinner and show will set you back AU$169.46 per head.

You may not think so now, but I assure your it will be money well spent and you’ll thank me later.


A80D45E1-F4B1-4BB8-8701-86543BC19E88.png

Sort:  

whoaa... have seen some flamenco dance videos but always want to see it with my bare eyes.. what a lucky man @samryan ;) best regard to your wife who made you enjoy the show and share it with us on Steemit. I found your post because @bengy has featured you in the pay it forward contest this week. uhh.. I like the expression you captured on the women dancer's face..

Wow, how cool! I'd love to attend an event like that!
Great photos, too! Thanks for sharing!

PS: I've found you because @bengy feeatured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thanks for letting me know.

Muy buena descripción, el flamenco te toca el alma, te hace vibrar los sentidos!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samryan
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=corral-de-la-moreria-the-cathedral-of-flamenco-art


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

I am kind of glad you listened to your wife on this one. It ended up being a fantastic post for me to read lol
Seriously though the photos are really great.
I came over because @bengy featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest this week.

Sounds like an amazing experience. Sounds like you had an amazing time. Your pictures are beautiful too. Very enjoyable posting.

As you know @bengy featured you for Week 27 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the amazing work and consider taking a look into joining in on what @pifc has to offer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97