4 DAYS IN BAVARIA – EXPENSIVE OR NOT? HOW MUCH IT COSTS?

in #travel5 years ago

Bavaria is the oldest and the largest state in Germany and one of the oldest states in Europe. For over 100 years Bavaria was a kingdom and that powerful atmosphere you can still feel and see by visiting this state. It’s a beloved destination for travelers from all over the world. Also for me and my family. Let me show you in this post what we visited and how much it cost in Bavaria!
DSC_0209.JPG
MAIN INFORMATION: as Bavaria is a wide state and there’s a lot to see, so we decided to take an apartment in Memmingen – the closest town to all the places we wanted to visit. We traveled together 5 persons and choose an apartment with a big kitchen, 2 bedrooms, large balcony, and parking place. All we wanted for only 440 EUR. Our travel begins in Berlin, Germany by car (Audi A6, 3.0 diesel). Total costs for fuel was 200 EUR. And one more important detail – we traveled in Easter time, it means, that most shops weren’t working because the celebration in Germany means celebration, not working.

MAIN INFORMATION IN NUMBERS:
Travel duration: 3 nights / 4 days
Number of travelers: 5
Apartment costs: 440 EUR (per person 88 EUR)
Fuel costs: 200 EUR (per person 40 EUR)

DSC_0426.JPG

FIRST DAY

As we knew that most shops will not work, one of our most important tasks was to prepare food for holidays and we decided to do that in Bavaria, Memmingen. In the first day, all the shops were working, so we started our trip at 8 o’clock and we were driving just straight to Memmingen. At the place, we shopped food for the next few days, took a look at some clothing stores and hardware stores. We took a wonderful walk in Memmingen’s small town center and streets. For food and drinks, we all paid separately. Someone wanted more sweets, someone meat, and someone alcohol. But on average every person spends about 25 EUR. As we know Germans traditional food, our interest was eating less in a restaurant, but more on our balcony.

Summary: 25 EUR p.p.
20190420_191047.jpg

SECOND DAY

The day starts early in the morning by preparing take-away sandwiches and going to one wonderful place – Lindau. That’s a small town near the lake – Bodensee. It’s a very special place because lake Bodensee is located in the middle of 3 countries – Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. Perfect place for walking, exploring, relaxing and enjoying. That’s what we did! Also, we took a boat tour for 1 hour (11 EUR) and ate big ice cream (5.90 EUR). Parking place for a whole day cost 8 EUR (1,60 EUR p.p.). After exploring Lindau and Bodensee we had a small pause, eating our early prepared sandwiches and going to our next stop.
DSC_0416.JPG

Ottobeuren – a very small village located near Memmingen but special with its basilica – the Benedictine Abbey. It’s something that needs to be seen at least once in your life! I just can’t explain that beauty. Literally, it makes you speechless. And after viewing this beauty we took a walk around this tiny village center, enjoying views. Everything is for free and we are ready for our evening walk.
DSC_0883.JPG

After a day full of adventures and emotions, an evening walk in Memmingen center is the right choice. We found one beautiful rooftop restaurant, where we all took a drink and enjoyed Memmingen in sunset twilight. One cocktail – 6,90 EUR.

Summary: 25,40 EUR p.p.
20190421_192715.jpg

THIRD DAY

Our most beautiful destination – Neuschwanstein Castle, one of the worlds most known, popular and visited destinations. It’s a live fairy tale castle in the middle of the mountains. Fascinating! Going up takes about 30 minutes by feet and then more 15 minutes to get to a special bridge between two mountains from where you can see the castle. Wandering around Neuschwanstein Castle costs nothing, only your energy! You need to pay only if you want to see the castle from inside, but we didn’t want – there were like thousands of people who were waiting for their turn to buy a ticket and later – to get inside a castle. It took around 1 to 2 hours. So, for us, it was enough to take few-hour-free walking-tour, not few-hour-waiting-tour, haha. We only bought a souvenir from this place. My magnet cost 4 EUR.
DSC_0254.JPG

The second part of the day we decided to spend in Oberstdorf – a characterful village in the middle of Bavarian mountains. Very photogenic, relaxing and beautiful place near the border with Austria. On the way to this village accidentally we found one working shop (which was working only 2 hours in this day but we was exactly at the time). In this interesting shop, we found a lot of Bavarian and Austrian alcohol. A huge assortment with drinks that we all saw first in our lives. Interesting taste liqueurs, rums, and wines. Of course, I took something to give a try (7,63 EUR).
DSC_0391.JPG

When getting to Oberstdorf, at first we found some restaurant to take a mean. Unfortunately, as it was an Easter holiday, also a lot of restaurants wasn’t working. But we found one! My meal included potatoes, fish, dessert and white wine (14,68 EUR). After we took a long and slow walk around this beautiful Bavarian village. We found some working souvenir shops and a small market. I bought a real Bavarian cheese and some other Bavarian snacks (9,91 EUR).

Summary: 36,22 EUR p.p.

DSC_0369.JPG

FOURTH DAY

The day when packed our belongings and souvenirs and we were ready to get back to Berlin. As we didn’t have any food left at first we get to some food stores and bought something for breakfast and for our 7 hour trip back to Berlin. Breakfast, walking through Memmingen one more time, some souvenirs and our holidays in Bavaria was over. In the last day, I spend about 20 EUR.

Summary: 20 EUR p.p.

SUMMARY

Four days in Bavaria (including fuel and apartment costs) for 1 person is about 234,62 EUR. For one day it is 58,65 EUR and I think it’s very, very friendly price because Bavaria isn’t the cheapest German state. Anyway, I know that we saved a lot of money eating at home and taking some sandwiches with. We just weren’t interested in eating at restaurant BUT it’s also a good idea for you how to travel cheaper and maximal save your money! I hope you enjoyed my post! For more questions, I am always open!

DSC_0177.JPG
If you are interested to know about me more, see my daily life, read about my travels, experience stories and tips, you are more than welcome to follow me on my other social platforms below:
My blog ''My Small Travel Guide'' has all that you want and need to know about traveling in Europe without quitting your job and taking credits. Travel tips. Cheap flights. Good food. And more in https://mysmalltravelguide.com/
My daily life in Berlin, what I do and what I like you can see in my Instagram https://www.instagram.com/sandra.ans/
Newest posts and actual information about my blog in twitter https://twitter.com/small_guide/
And also don't forget to follow my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/mysmalltravelguide/

Sort:  

Germany in general is not that expensive. You can get good value for what you paid so it's reasonable.. It looks like you visited quite a lot in those couple of days. And you had nice weather! Lucky you!

I live in Switzerland, 10 minutes by car to the German border and about 2 hours to Neuschwanstein Castle. BUT this is one of the castles in Germany that I haven't visited yet because of the tourists. As you said, it is always crowded and to me it doesn't look so authentic because it's a relatively new castle. I didn't know that you can have there such a nice walk so I might do the same and just go there and walk around the castle instead of going inside :)

Thank you for sharing! It was fun to see your photos and read your post :) Have a nice day and congratulations on your curie vote!

Hey, thank you for words! I think you definitely need to visit Neuschwanstein Castle, but just outside is totally enough! People and tourists are toooooo much! You need to wait 1 -2 hours just to get inside and I don't think that you will see a lot in that"sea with people" 😂 In some guides is said, that best time for visiting this castle is early morning. Maybe try this idea? Have a nice day you too!:))

Posted using Partiko Android

A beautiful post and it made me a little envious. Who wouldn't like to go to Bavaria for 4 days. I like how you have costed it all out and it is fairly reasonable for what you guys did. I tend to eat out a lot to try the local food and experience the different flavors. Hope you go somewhere else soon as I really enjoyed your post.

Hey, thank you! Soon are coming new posts, but till that time you can read something good in my blog if you would like ;) https://mysmalltravelguide.com/
About eating I agree! When I was in Hungary I wanted to try everything, but in Germany, I live and I can eat German food every single day and sometimes it's too much, haha. :D

hi @sandraans
nice post for travelers like us! Bavaria could be one of our next destinations, so we'll definitely take your advice into account! I also visited your website, very nice! Do you usually organize all the stages before you leave or do you let yourself be inspired by the moment?
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us

Hey, nice to hear words like these! :) In Bavaria is even much more to see, but for 4 days it was totally enough. :D
I am trying to maximal everything to organize, but I am also very open to spontaneous things. Like in this trip we didn't have a plan to go to Neuschwanstein Castle, but the day before going I remembered that this wonderful castle is somewhere not far away! And so we spontaneous changed our plans. :)

once, when I had little time for the holidays, I organized everything in detail, not because of organizational obsessions, but to try to put in all the things I wanted to visit. Now that we are free without time, it is another life!

Beautiful place, very peaceful, full of green, I love this specific castles. I've been in Germany- Berlin, but after reading your post I have to plan some trip to Bavaria.

You definitely need to! It's a wonderful place! If you have a chance - never say ''no''! :)

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Hi there @sandraans!

That is quite a budget friendly trip in Germany. Well I had just gotten out of the country just once and it was like 5 years ago. I must do it again in the future.

I have plans and dreams of travelling or visit Germany someday. Its in my bucketlist actually!

Thanks for sharing your daily and very detailed itinerary with us. This will handy and informative for those who have same plans as you.

Congrats on your curie love! Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey there! I am happy that you liked my story and maybe even it inspired you to think more about visiting this and other places in Germany! It's a wonderful world, we need to go out and explore!
I hope you will very soon have some trip because 5-year-break is loooong time :) At least for me :D
Cheers ❤

Hi again @sandraans!

Its true! We need to go out of our comfort zone, travel and explore the other side of the world. I wish I had the resources to do that. Maybe soon, maybe after retirement 🤣😂, which is 20 years from now!

Posted using Partiko Android

I miss Germany.Such a beautiful place as you show in your photos. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome! I hope you will visit it again and have new adventures! ❤

You should vistit Nuremberg(Nürnberg) in Franken, Highlights are the Frühlingsfest and the Christkindelsmarkt in Winter Time, Bratwurst and nice Man´s like me.^^ Nice Girls we have, too, if you want.^^ Bavaria is around this wonderfull place on Earth. :-)

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

I have a lot of plans in Germany, there are too many beautiful places! Thank you for sharing your tips :)

Thanks for showing us this trip that really is economical for how nice and fun it should be. 😊

I hope my post will inspire people to travel more and find new ways how to travel cheaper and with fun :)

First of all, you are very pretty :)
and the post is great too, I like the part that you took sandwiched to save money on restaurant eating. :)

THANK YOU ❤❤❤ You made me smile :)
Yes, that's a small tip on how to travel cheaper, but at the same time it's something unusual and that makes this saving special and nice. :)

I am really liking your blog and also showed it to my boyfriend that this girl can actually help us travel. :):):)

I am so glad to hear that ❤
Then let's stay connected! I am following you, cause it always feels so goood to have such a great person around :)

Great 🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65