7 DAYS IN SPLIT – 7 PLACES WHERE TO TRIP

in #travel5 years ago

Split is the second largest city in Croatia with one of the oldest ancient center in the world. It’s a perfect mix of antiquity and modernity. A few more years ago Split wasn’t very touristic (as Dubrovnik), but with time it is becoming more and more famous and visited. Nowadays people know Split as a perfect vacation place where to relax on the best beaches by Adriatic sea, feel the Roman architecture, live like in the ancient times, have plenty different day trips and sightseeing all around and, of course, eat seafood and drink wine in excellent Splits restaurants! But to know, Split is not a city for 2-3 days. No! Split is the place where to enjoy vacation BUT vacation means – not too fast return to your job, right?!
20170727_153808(0).jpg

1. VISIT THE OLD TOWN – HISTORIC SPLIT

The Old Town in Split is a treasure! You will need at least a few hours and fully charged photo camera too see everything! The Old Town is a perfect trip into history by foot. Most of buildings and architecture miracles are authentic and that makes this town incredible! The Old Town of Split in 2014 became a UNESCO World Heritage. It’s a special and gently, year by year guarded place with a beautiful renaissance architecture. Some must see in the Old Town are Diocletian’s Palace, Peristil Square, Saint Dominus Cathedral, Silver Gate, Republic Square and Statue of Grgur Ninski. But remember, that’s not all that Split is having, there are much more miracles awaiting on you!
20170727_144623.jpg

2. TAKE A ROMANTIC WALK ON THE RIVA

The Riva is a main promenade and port in Split. In one side waterfront, in other – entrance and view to the Old Town of Split. It is the most attractive, famous and specific public places in Split. Riva is more than 1700 years old but also after so many years, it isn’t losing its charm. Full of palm trees, green plants, benches, cafes, restaurants, cutters, sailing boats, ships and view to the mountains. The Riva definitely is my favorite place in Split! I was going there in my every free moment. Ahh, what a magnificent place is that?! The Riva stoled my heart!
20170727_151822.jpg

20170727_152246.jpg

From Riva port, you can also take a boat trip. There are many ships offering just everything – from diving tours and visiting other islands till drinking and partying on the ship! Choose what you want and have fun!
20170727_152312.jpg

3. GO UP MARJAN HILL AND ENJOY THE VIEW

Marjan Hill is a fantastic spot for overlooking the whole Split! Marjan Hill is 170 meters tall and at the first moment I thought that it’s not so much, but I was wrong! Going up to the hill is a very good exercise combined with breathtaking views. Be sure, that you take enough water with you! There aren’t any kind of shops or kiosks. There are only you and the hill. But getting up is feeling like conquering the world! Or at least yourself. Marjan Hills top is a great place for a picnic. Take a seat in the shadow, eat some Croatian snacks and fruits and enjoy the view!
20170731_155806.jpg

4. RELAX ON THE SPLIT BEACHES

In my whole life, I haven’t visited so great beaches as in Croatia, Split. Super clear water in which you can see many meters in deep, clean and nice beaches and the choice of beaches for every taste. Yes, Split has it all and even more – beaches that are adapted to the special needs of disabled, for example, for people in a wheelchair. I have visited a few of them because once I have traveled with a person in a wheelchair and I can’t imagine anything better! Access to the sea with special ramps, equipment for swimming, special toilets, wardrobes and showers and even lifeguards who are there to help! Ohh, Split really surprised me with its kindness, friendliness, and helpfulness. Splits beaches are extra beautiful, clean and friendly for everyone! And this I haven’t seen in other lands!
20170726_171232.jpg

20170801_161050.jpg

I have visited many Splits best spots by sea but beaches in the central part of the city for me was too busy and with too many tourists and children. One of the most popular beaches ‘’Bacvice Beach’’ for me was too extremely busy, but from the other side it is very close to the center, so it’s easier to get there if you don’t have a car while traveling. Anyway, we were searching something more on the edges and we found it – ‘’Bene Beach’’. A place where you can’t get so simple because it’s located in the heart of Marjan forest and you need to take a walk, maybe even a long walk but its something really special! It’s a perfect place for those who want a peaceful holiday! Everyone can find there a nice spot and spent all day! Also, view of mountains and floating sailing boats are amazing! Don’t miss it!
20170805_191812.jpg

5. TAKE A DAY TRIP TO TROGIR

Not far away from Split is a small but very picturesque town Trogir. After surviving a few wars in the past, Trogir is still full of Gothic and Romanesque architecture. The old town lies on a small island connected to the mainland by bridges and that makes this place so special and romantic. There are small, charming streets, green parks, historic churches and buildings, beautiful views with palms and blue sea and a lot of romantic moments. It’s a perfect getaway for a half day or whole day.
20170806_143744.jpg

I spent there one long day with my friends and we really loved this day! Despite the fact that we traveled in the main season, Trogir seemed to be more calm and nice as we thought. It wasn’t overloaded with tourists. It was just in time for a day with great friends!
20170806_144619.jpg

6. VISIT AMAZING KRKA NATIONAL PARK

Located only one hour away from Split you can visit Krka National Park. It is situated along the Krka river and is known for its amazing waterfalls! There is a special walking trail through the national park where you can see the beauty of Croatia nature. There is also a large natural pool where visitors in summer can swim and spend a fantastic time. It is a very photogenic and beautiful place.
20161021_123330.jpg

20161021_125924.jpg

One very interesting thing that makes Krka National Park special (at least for me) are sellers behind small tables. You can’t meet them very often, but when you see them, know that they are selling Croatian best snacks and traditional alcohol, but if you will ask, who knows, maybe he or she will offer you something special from the table bottom. It happened to me. I don’t like Croatian traditional alcohol – Rakia but I am in love with wines. So I just asked: ‘’Maybe you know where I can find Croatian wine?’’’. And I didn’t need to wait a long for an answer. She gave me a few bottles with one of the best Croatian wines I have ever tried.
20161021_133455.jpg

7. TRIP INTO FOOD WORLD

And of course, how without a food?! I think it isn’t possible to travel somewhere and not to try their food, right? Croatia is having a large dish offer for every taste, but seafood is their specialty. Everything that comes from the sea tastes very good and it’s pretty sure, why! But if you don’t like seafood, I will calm you down, Croats are very good cooks! And the prices in restaurants aren’t cosmic. Lunch on the Riva for two people with the main dish, coffee, fresh pressed orange juice and fresh fruits cost for us about 24 EUR (182,00 KN). And for a central promenade in Split, I think, it’s not too bad.
20170802_162054.jpg

My biggest surprise was about Croatian ice cream and snacks. I always thought that the most delicious ice cream was in Italy, but I was wrong. Now in my TOP first place stands Croatian ice cream kiosks. They are selling the best. As one of my most famous ice creams is with pistachio taste and I have tried it in every country where I have been, in Split it tasted like made from real pistachio! The taste was natural, real and strong, but not chemically or oily. And you know, if you are visiting Croatia in summer, you will not have any other opportunity as only to try this tasty thing!
20170727_151057.jpg

20170725_163406.jpg

SUMMARY

In Split, I have lived 2 weeks exploring, sunbathing, swimming, eating and just enjoying every day in Croatia and I absolutely loved my time in Split. In this time I found a few things that are in Split more attractive than in other countries I have been. I love that clear water, green plants, and palm trees, ancient architecture and view to mountains. It’s a very romantic place with a lot of activities and delicious food! In my wish list stays a point to visit Split again (most importantly to visit my beloved Riva again but It’s the same, right?). And you know, places where you want to return, are always the best ones!
20170727_151803 - kopija.jpg

If you are interested to know about me more, see my daily life, read about my travels, experience stories and tips, you are more than welcome to follow me on my other social platforms below:
My blog ''My Small Travel Guide'' has all that you want and need to know about traveling in Europe without quitting your job and taking credits. Travel tips. Cheap flights. Good food. And more in https://mysmalltravelguide.com/
My daily life in Berlin, what I do and what I like you can see in my Instagram https://www.instagram.com/sandra.ans/
Newest posts and actual information about my blog in twitter https://twitter.com/small_guide/
And also don't forget to follow my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/mysmalltravelguide/

Sort:  

Excellent and very detailed guide with beautiful pics! Highly upvoted.

Thank you soooo much! A big hug from me!🙏🏻

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63