Road Trip: Day 8 - Asheville, NC (The Best City Ever) Part 2!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

greensage.jpg

Day 2 in Asheville, NC was overflowing with good food, good beer, and good times! What an incredible city this is, really one of the most forward thinking and conscious places we've ever visited!

I am so happy to be sharing this experience with the Steemit community and I'm really enjoying writing these posts and reliving our memories.

Our first stop of the day was breakfast at a vegetarian restaurant called The Green Sage. Their ingredients are organic and locally sourced "Farm-to-Table", a term which seems to be the motto of Asheville.

They have a huge selection of drinks, including a wonderful form of kombucha that is brewed with honey as a sweetener, called Jun. It requires slightly different strain of cultures that are accustomed to eating honey as their sugar source. It has a great flavor and is a little milder than regular kombucha in my opinion. We can't wait to brew our own!

Jeremy @arevolution fell in love with their Green Beetle Burger! It's a homemade beet burger patty, topped with pickled beets, avocado, red onion, applewood smoked dulse, and spicy hummus, wrapped in a blanched collard leaf. This may sound way too healthy to taste good but trust us, it was AMAZING!!

It also comes with a choice of sides, pictured here is the Green Beetle Burger with Asian Slaw on the side.

20180716_152003.jpg

I had the breakfast burrito with organic egg, black beans, spinach, "root" hash, avocado salsa, habenero jack and soy sausage. I'm not a huge fan of soy but it was pretty good. That being said I will definitely get the Green Beetle instead when we go back. That thing was just too good!

They also have a great choice of teas. Here's a link for The Green Sage's full food and drink menu

20180716_151327.jpg

After breakfast things got really interesting!

The next stop is what some might call a little risqué, but it's so funny that I have to share... Would you believe, right here in downtown Asheville, they have an adult store! The thing is, that it's totally new aged the f*** out! Some might call it "crunchy," we however, found it both hilarious and awesome!

Welcome to VavaVoom!

20180716_163612.jpg

The funny thing is we found it by chance when we got a parking spot right in front of the store! Is the universe trying to tell me something?!

They have a great selection of forward thinking books on relationships, the history female and masculine roles in society, and all kinds of esoteric topics.

20180716_164220.jpg

Things got even more crunchy when we found the display of Yoni Eggs and other crystal tools. Yoni Eggs are actually pretty fascinating. I learned about them during acupuncture school, they are also known as Jade Eggs and have incredible health benefits.

Ladies I'm just saying you should google it and get one, it could change your life. If you do, make sure it's from a credible source since it's important that they are made well. Here is a link to the brand from their store.

20180716_164112.jpg

After spending a bunch of money we moved on and came across a store called Instant Karma. It was full of crystals, incense, and all kinds of trinkets. After perusing through the books Jeremy @arevolution came across a book he felt called to him, titled "In Search of Truth and Freedom" by Dietmar Rothe. So we had to buy that too!

20180716_171303.jpg

With our shopping spree over we picked up a growler of beer from The Lab Brewery and headed to our City Bus Tour.

We found this tour online which was a comedy bus tour by LaZoom.

20180716_174816.jpg

The rules for bringing alcoholic beverages on board is only that the containers are unopened when you get on the bus.

20180716_174855.jpg

We thought we might be asking for too much when we called earlier that day and asked if it was ok to bring beer, but apparently not because they totally offered everyone cups when we boarded the bus. Which was thoughtful since we'd had the same thought, and made a rushed stop back to The Green Sage to pick up to-go cups for our beer in the growler.

20180716_175609.jpg

The tour itself was awesome, with a fun cast of characters that pop up all over town and a comical tour guide.

20180716_180512.jpg

The "characters" are actually the same guy that dresses up around town and he is too funny!

20180716_181547(0).jpg

They even have a conscious twist on the comedy including topics like Asheville's deep love of health and even saving the bees!

20180716_183042.jpg

They are so much fun, and also nice enough to make a stop at the Green Man Brewery for a bathroom break.

20180716_190108.jpg

Of course, it had to be a brewery... just in case you've run out of beer! It is a comedy tour after all.
Every brewery has it's own "merch," as my daughter would call it, so you can pick up a souvenir!

20180716_185936.jpg

The city is both beautiful and inspiring! Check out this chalk wall we walked by on our way to the tour!
It's titled "Before I Die..." and it gives each passerby the chance to share their dreams with the world.
Plus it's well known that there is a real power behind handwriting your goals!

20180716_174608.jpg

The homes are majestic and the neighborhoods are heartwarming and welcoming.

20180716_182839.jpg

Keep in mind, these homes are in the nicer neighborhoods and are very expensive!

20180716_182731.jpg

I'm happy these photos turned out ok, not bad considering they where taken from a moving bus!

20180716_182806.jpg

This is the park in the center of the city, we found some interesting characters there every time we walked by on our trip.
The people are totally hippied out, I'm talking bare foot nomads playing instruments and smoking weed!

20180716_192207.jpg

I wish I'd gotten a photo but we saw these guys walking along a fairly big road wearing hiking backpacks topped with yoga mats!

After the tour we made a stop at the Wicked Weed Brewery for a flight of beers.

Before leaving Asheville our last stop was the BEST breakfast spot that I have ever been to in my entire life, and quite possibly my favorite place on the whole trip!!

I present to you: The Biscuit Head located at 733 Haywood Rd, Asheville, NC 28806.

This place blew my mind! Being a biscuit lover and a vegetarian has always been a let down, because most gravy contains meat! But this place... oh this place changed my life!

Here's Jeremy @arevolution showing you their lovely menu, featuring 6 different kinds of gravy, with 3 vegetarian options! Including mushroom, sweet potato, and vegan sausage! Which are the three I ordered and each one was exquisite!

20180717_121502.jpg

And for meat lovers how about fried chicken gravy, pork sausage gravy, and espresso red eye gravy! Here's a link so you can drool over their full menu.

Oh, and gluten free or vegan options? They've got that covered too...! Truly amazing, and I must mention again, FARM FRESH! Check out the outdoor garden right on site:

20180717_122303.jpg

The biscuits are made from scratch of course and are served in all kinds of ways. You can get them topped with fried chicken, poached eggs, veggies, bacon, you name it, they probably have it!

Typical of a city filled with breweries they came up with the brilliant idea of gravy flights! Here is our spectacular meal featuring the fried chicken biscuit, and the flight of gravies! With freshly squeezed lemonade to wash it down... Heaven!!

I must also mention the Moon Fries pictured here. They had an amazing sharp cheddar on top of seasoned home fries. SO tasty, it makes my mouth water just thinking about it!

20180717_122651.jpg

Too add on to the awesomeness they have a Jam Bar, with an array of homemade farm fresh jams, jellies, and flavored butters like bacon, maple, and pecan!!

20180717_122219.jpg

Not to mention their large selection of hot sauce! This is a photo of some of their products for sale, the two hot sauces here are just a few of what they have to offer, the Sweet Heat and Blueberry Jalapeño.

This experience was the best ever and then to top it off, here is their slogan:
Put Some South In Your Mouth!

20180717_130103.jpg

So turns out Asheville is pretty awesome!
On the way out of the city we spotted a couple more honorable mentions that I have to include in this post, we didn't stop at any of them but check out these business titles!

Fractals Coffee Shop

20180717_132105.jpg

I s*** you not... The Organic Mechanic!!!
Who knows maybe they specialize in hybrids and converting vehicles to bio-deisel? Whatever the case may be I'm all of it!

20180717_132138.jpg

Their graffiti happens to be mandalas and sacred geometry... Kind of hilarious!

20180717_131606.jpg

And they have a distribution center for Mountain Valley Spring Water. A service we used to use before purchasing a water filter. They deliver mountain spring water in glass bottles to homes and offices from coast to coast.

20180717_131855.jpg

WOOH! I think that wraps it up for our trip to Asheville!! What a visit!
I hope you guys enjoyed this post and made it to the end!

If you did, please Upvote and Resteem for me so I can save enough to move to Asheville! hehe

And if you want more of Asheville's awesomeness please check out my post from our First Day in Asheville, it's full of awesome places too!

Thanks and much love!!!!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your road trip experience! My favorites from your photos were the bus with red lips on the front, burritos and the Beeman...😁

Awesome and thank you!! The bus tour was the best tour ever, they were a riot! 😄

Awesome! Looks like you both sweeties had an exciting road trip 👍😀

So much fun, great food and new experiences packed into this one cool post 👌. Great !

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you! It was an amazing trip!

Hi sandyh,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hey @sandyh, thank you for taking into your trip in Asheville, nice diary in photographs, I love that vegetarian restaurant it is difficult to imagine how rich fantasy these people working in restaurants must have to create such variety of wonderful dishes so that even non-vegetarian enjoying them. For me it seemed that vegetarian have such boring diet but seeing all that tasty meals, I would probably be volunteer vegetarian for couple of days.

That was also nice trip in your bus, I would also love to be on board, really entertaining tour and the guys working for LaZoom have done a great job, the bus is so colorful and the people in costumes that is a great idea.

I enjoyed much your "tasty" photographs and thank you for sharing your experience in Asheville :)

Cheers, from Art-supporting blog,@art-venture

6f6jgbn4v8.jpg

Thank you so much for your comment and feedback! 💓

Yes, it is challenging finding good food while eating a vegetation diet. Luckily I'm used to it since I've been vegetarian since I was a small child. But there are lots of delicious recipes that contain no meat! It's just that most restaurants are not catered towards vegetarians. But those restaurants that are, usually come up with fantastic meatless alternatives!
I hope you feel more confident in trying new vegetarian foods in the future!

Asheville would be a great place to try out some new foods! 😄

I guess sex shops are never enough, so good for Assheville and their store!

Great publication. it's clear that you enjoyed your trip a lot, that energy is transmitted in your texts and in those beautiful photos.

Thank you! And yes, I definitely enjoyed writing this post and I still love reading it since it takes me back to Asheville!

I'd love to taste that burrito and the burger as well, both look great. The sauces look great as well. I'd avoid the coffee shop for sure, just quit coffee :) The whole trip looks like fun so It's on my bucket list :) Well done!

Thank you! Yes, I do need to back off the coffee, funny I hated coffee all my life until about 3 years ago!! After I had my I daughter I became a little bit of a caffiene junky lol 😄

I hope you get to visit Asheville sometime soon and I really appreciate your support!! 💓

I've been a coffee addict for years and two weeks ago I said NO! It's been hard the first two days but I'm much better now, so it can be done :) As about Asheville ... I need a visa and a lot of money :))

@sandyh if you had a great adventure and a great trip of a whole phenomenal pass I liked all the images but I liked the stop of the beers I am beer lover and the hot sauce stop I like too the spicy the truth asheville it's a place to spend the holidays and my feet are stinging to go to that place you see everything phenomenal @neymarth10

Thank you! I am so glad you enjoyed the post! If you love beer and good food you have to go to Asheville! Stay tuned for my upcoming adventure to Aruba!

Congratulations @sandyh! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Excellent pictures, it was as if we were traveling there with you too, Asheville is a fantastic place, They had a great adventure !! Thank you very much for sharing your experience, the way you wrote was phenomenal accompanied by those excellent photos, a big hug from Venezuela @sandyh .. !!

Thank you so much! I am glad you enjoyed the post! Your comment is very encouraging 😄
Big hugs back to you from Orlando @naideth! I followed you and thanks again!

Now i knew one more fabulous place to visit after gone through your post. The food photo you shared? It make me hungry. Thank you for showing me the crystals. I am a crystal lovers and collect a lot of crystal tools.But i have not come across yoni egg. Thanks for that. i will google it. The bee man can cheered you up when you are down. Thank you for brought us along on your travel journey @sandyh. I felt like just visited Asheville after read your post.

Will there be part 3 coming? :)

Thank you! I love that you enjoyed the post and that you are going to look into yoni eggs! I'm so happy to have helped you find new crystal tools!

Here's a link to the brand I found at that store:
http://www.chakrubs.com/yoni-eggs/

No part 3, BUT stay tuned for my upcoming trip to Aruba!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.95
ETH 2946.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55