Remembering 9/11: The Extraordinary Ground Zero Memorial & Museum

in #travel7 years ago
NO DAY SHALL ERASE YOU FROM THE MEMORY OF TIME.
Virgil

This past week, I had the opportunity to travel over to New York City with a group of girls in my family. We had so much fun together! Even though we are all so unique with different likes, dislikes, and interests, we all had one thing in common:

Each one of us agreed that the highlight of our time in New York City was the Ground Zero Memorial & Museum

SRPhoto-nyc--1-7.jpg


The Memorial

The last time I came to NYC, the memorial and museum were still under construction. In contrast, I was completely in awe at what I found here this time around.

The following image is one that I took of the water feature where one of the Twin Towers once stood. There was a second water feature (looking nearly identical) for the second tower exactly where she once stood as well. These fountains are sunken into the ground and have such a unique look.

SRPhoto-nyc--1-8.jpg

The thing that really enhances this memorial is that it has the names of all those who died in this tragic even on September 11, 2001 on the top edges of the memorial. Like so: (see image below)

SRPhoto-nyc--1-11.jpg

This memorial hit me so much harder than others I've been to in the past, because this event happened during my lifetime. People who died in this event would have still been with us today if this attack had not taken place.

I saw several young adults mourning over family members and it just broke my heart to see just how much this has effected the lives of so many Americans.

SRPhoto-nyc--1-9.jpg

The Museum

The museum was honestly the part that blew me away most. I thought the memorial alone was powerful, but when paired with this new, modern, beautiful museum... it's breathtaking.

It cost about $20 to enter into the museum, and it was worth every single penny.

I'm not usually a very emotional person, but this museum did an amazing job at really capturing what happened on that day 16 years ago, and how it affected so many.

SRPhoto-nyc--1-6.jpg

This museum had so many artifacts, images, videos, visual presentations, voice recordings from passengers and stewardesses on the planes with hijackers, recordings of phone calls to loved ones, stories from those who lost someone in the event, stories of all those who died, and so much more.

It was the most emotional museum I've ever attended, and it was designed in such a captivating way. I could have stayed in there for at least 3 hours if I didn't get there only 2 hours before closing time.

I didn't get many pictures of inside the museum because I was truly so consumed in the content I was absorbing.

If you have the chance to visit this museum, I would HIGHLY recommend it.

It changed the way I look at the New York City skyline. I'll always remember what happened there on 9/11.


Xoxo,
Sarah


16797910_366802717035587_4515000207411482102_o.jpg

Follow along for more photography, tips, tricks, travel, and more!

All images taken by myself, Sarah Rodebush.

Sort:  

Yes, we will all stand together in remembering this event in history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64