A Spontaneous Road Trip to Cannon Beach, Oregon

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

If you've ever wanted to leave work, get in your car, and drive until you reach the ocean, then you'll understand this post. That's what I did. With no reservations, without any kind of plan, I threw a sleeping bag and a change of clothes in the car and started driving.
IMG_3821 copy.jpg

Cannon Beach, Oregon had been on my mind for awhile. I found myself daydreaming about the beach everyday at work. I pulled up the weather forecast. Sunny and 76 degrees. That would do.

I decided to take the scenic route, as opposed to the fastest. White Pass would take me over the Cascade Mountains that separate East and West, dividing desert from the rainforest and sea. I came across some incredible viewpoints of Mount Rainier along the way.

IMG_20180420_192025.jpg

When you don't really have a specific destination or obligation in mind, it's best to at least enjoy the ride.

IMG_20180421_153643.jpg

As soon as you get to the Western side of the Cascades, you're greeted with lush green meadows and shimmering valley lakes. My road trip was full of unexpected places like this. I fell in love with the village of Randle, Washington.
IMG_20180421_145058.jpg

It was the most serene valley I've ever seen. There were elk and cattle grazing in the dew-covered grass of endless pastures, blooming spring flowers left and right. I stopped for gas and a cup of coffee. The locals were kind and smiling. It was the kind of place you could escape the outside world forever.

IMG_20180421_142206.jpg

With my mission to get to the coast in mind, I kept driving. The sun set as left the village of Randle, and for the next three hours, I drove in darkness. Nate DiMeo kept me company, as a listened in on my favorite podcast, The Memory Palace. I wondered where I would sleep that night, and where on the beach I should watch the sunrise, but first, I just had to get to the coast.

Full disclosure: I slept in my car that night. The coast of Oregon is a very popular tourist and vacation spot, meaning it's expensive-- $118 for a room in a Motel 6 kind of expensive. I found a turnout about five miles from Cannon Beach where a few other travelers who also rejected the tourist tax had ended up for the night. I slept well enough. I woke to the sound of rain beating against the car around 1 AM. At 3 AM, I woke up to a clear sky of twinkling stars, framed by the peaks of the forest pines. Then around 7 AM, I rolled up my sleeping bag, climbed into the drivers seat, and headed to the perfect spot to watch the sunrise over the beach: Ecola State Park (kind of sounds like a type of bacteria in my opinion.)

Finally made it!
IMG_20180421_071652.jpg

The drive through the park itself is beautiful. A canopy of moss-covered spruce and hemlock trees winds on for 7 miles before bringing you to the iconic Ecola View Point. It transposes you to another time, being here. You can imagine how the coast must have been centuries ago, untouched by European settlement.

20180421070914_IMG_3801.JPG

The land was originally inhabited by the Tillamook people, a tribe of over 2000 in the 18th century. In 1806, Captain Clark (of Lewis and Clark) crossed through here on the iconic and historic expedition. By the mid 1800's, most of the Tillamook people had succumb to disease brought by European groups, leaving only 200 members who were then forced into reservations. And so we have the Oregon coast as it is today. A vacation destination. A home to well-to-do Oregonians. It was the effort of private owners in the 1930's to protect this area from logging, development and natural damages, leaving us this small stretch of lush terrain to appreciate.

History is important to include, in my opinion. It's a component of being a responsible traveller. It separates the traveller from the tourist, being able to see a place for all that it is, present and past, the good with the bad. I digress. To the shore, at last. I headed to Cannon Beach.

Okay, first I needed coffee. I made a quick stop at Sea Level Bakery along the way. I highly recommend the ham & cheese croissant. They make all their baked goods from scratch.

348s.jpg

The locals were up and about already, dropping in for their morning usuals and reading the local paper. I gave my phone a quick charge and did a quick survey of the area map. I was only a mile from the iconic Haystack Rock. This is the best part about traveling without a plan. The freedom to explore whatever comes your way or peaks your interest is amazing. I parked along the vacation rental-lined Hemlock Street and took the staircase down to the beach, blanket and copy of On The Road, by Jack Kerouac, under my arm.

IMG_3825.jpg

The morning joggers, dog walkers and beach cleaners were there to greet me. I imagined what it would be like, living here, waking up in the morning and walking my imaginary doberman pinscher to the waterfront for a game of fetch. I took in the strangers walking by, most of them dressed like walking REI ads, Patagonia jackets on toddlers, groups of women in Lulu Lemon. Nah, this wouldn't be a good fit for me. But just for today, I would enjoy it.

30052334_10216020391645176_3000291601297613477_o.jpg

After sitting in the car for six hours the day before, I was itching to do some stretching and ready to feel the sand beneath my feet. Some barefoot yoga on the beach sounded perfect.


(Sorry about the random music in the video, I'm going to edit it out.)

There's something about the salty sea air, barnacle covered rocks and foamy tide lines that brings me a sense of calm like nothing else. The ocean is where you go when life feels too complicated, to uncertain and too noisy. You and whatever is bothering you feels small and incomparable to the power of the sea.

IMG_3829 copy.jpg

This road trip helped me find some center in all the changes I've had recently in my life. Going through a breakup, trying to figure out what to do with my life, considering a new career path...it's been chaotic. No matter what the future may bring us, we can always step away and take a trip to the coast when we need to.

Thanks for joining me on my road trip!

Sort:  

Wow well done, the place looks amazing I liked it
Great post from you
Thank you for sharing your trip with us

Great idea i will do it one day

This was such a stunning look into a beautiful location. Thank you for taking us along with you! I have also dropped everything and driven to the beach, also sleeping in the car as well 😉. Sometimes we just need to find that place that calms us to the core, and get there as fast as we can. Great post, thank you so much for sharing this!

Sounds like this really resonated with you, I'm so glad! I always hope to make the reader feel as though they could be there :) Thanks for reading.

Sounds amazing, looks incredible! Can't believe you slept in your car. Good stuff - Safe travels.

Haha thank you!

Great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67186.90
ETH 3110.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77