From the Depths

in #travel6 years ago

I'm starting a new series today called From the Depths. My goal is to introduce people to little known obscure creatures that inhabit the worlds oceans.

From the Depths will be a weekly blog to start and we will see where it goes from there.

I hope you enjoy this new weekly feature and thanks so much for the support.

From the Depth - Red-eyed Medusa

Frame of reference is everything. From the perspective of beachcombers, jellyfish in the surf tend to be an irritant and a threat. They could sting or bite, and in large numbers, they make for some fear inducing stories to people that have no understanding of the ocean and its inhabitants. That’s one perspective. From the point of view of a diver and photographer, jellyfishes are mysterious delicate creatures, so beautiful they challenge our descriptive abilities.

Red-eyed Medusa Jellyfish-1.jpg

This is a little hydrozoan called the red-eyed medusa, Polyorchis penicillatus. The red-eyed medusa is fairly common in the water along the Pacific Northwest, but they are easy to miss while diving or beach combing because they are so small, they look like little more than clear 1-inch blobs. The pulsing transparent bell shows all the internal anatomy and the eye-spots at the base of the tentacles immediately catch your eye. I still remember the first one I observed this way; I had no idea it would be so lively.

Red-eyed Medusa Jellyfish-2.jpg

Thanks for reading.

Scott

For more stories and photos - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

This is very nice... Nature is awesome! How deep do you actually dive to capture these creatures?

good post.im witting for your next post.keep going.

Good photos, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

REALLY great photos!!! Some of the best iv'e seen in a long time. Thanks for sharing your work.

upvoted and resteemed

So sick, love the creatures of the deep!

I've never seen anything like it! And so interesting it is written! I'm subscribing to you and waiting for new photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59