Sunrise on Saturna, an otter tale

in #travel7 years ago

Getting up early is not something I’m in the habit of doing, mostly because of my career in the service industry and as a photographer. However on special occasions I do peel myself out of bed to photograph a specific species or jump in the water because the tides are just right. On this particular day I’m so glad I did.

This year was my first year shooting multiple weddings during the summer season. In the past I’ve been way to busy during the summer with my other job that I just could not make it happen however this year was different.

Living on an island, especially Vancouver Island allows you to take for granted a few things: the ocean, the wonderful year-round outdoor adventures and great weather we have on the south island. But getting to go to a smaller island is always such a refreshing way to remember what you have and appreciate it that much more.

Saturna Island-1.jpg

I had just complete a 15 hour wedding shoot for my friends the day before on the brides beautiful family property on Saturna Island and was hoping to get a good nights sleep before heading by home but the fiery ball in the sky beaming into my room at 545am wasn’t letting me do that.

So I figured I’d take this chance to do something a little different. I grab my camera and a cup of coffee and headed down to the beach.

After a little time beach combing looking for something to shoot other than the sunrise I heard some very unique sounds come from the water. The high-pitched chirp was unmistakably the sound of young otters. Once you have heard the sound you’ll never forget it.

River Otter-1.jpg

For the better part of twenty minutes the group of otter’s frolicked and foraged for food in the tidal pools and shoreline. They knew I was there and kept their distance. Non the less it was a great time for me to shoot an animal I don’t get to see all that much living in a city.

River Otter-6.jpg

River Otter-2.jpg

River Otter-5.jpg

I did learn however that my skill as a sunrise animal photographer need to be honed a bit more. I’ve been shooting for years but the conditions that morning, my subjects, and my lack of sleep made things a little more challenging that’s for sure. Maybe I will try and get up earlier more often it diffidently was a beautiful morning.

River Otter-7.jpg

I highly recommend a visit to Saturna Island or any of the Gulf Islands if you get a chance. Each one is its own small community with its own characteristics and charisma.

Thanks for reading.

Scott

For more images and stories - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

nice

Great captures buddy, these are awesome!

beautiful :-)

that is the greatest thing i have ever seen great job thank you for your work

amazing captures

A early morning rise I always rewarding, whether it be for your health or for photography, can see you are rewarded with some great photos here scottdphoto.

Everything starts with a coincidence in which it is a creative touch.
Thank you for taking the plunge into the world of quiet nature mixed with your creative passion

Congratulations @scottdphoto, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2716 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $774.33. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88