You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Longest Scheduled Flights - A seriously aching arse.....

in #travel6 years ago

Wow, I'm reading about planes now, what's happening to me, I'm being drawn into the netherworld of Steemit! Like you say, a bit different to the world of easy jet short haul flights with a forty minute turnaround time before they take off again.
That last airbus looks beautiful. I went to Duxford Air Show one year and looked round the museum - amazing collection of air vehicles including concorde and a superfast plane that looks a bit like a black slug for, well, spying, I guess. I found the world war two stuff harrowing, terrible flying conditions, horribly vulnerable, it's a wonder any of those young men came back at all.
I notice that this plane and the one you were on had those tilted wing-tips - is that a feature of these large planes only?

Sort:  

Well theyre called shark fins or winglets, the latest ones are blended into the wing but older aircraft had them retro-fitted. They reduce drag on the wing tips by minimising the vortices. Its been a long known phenomena but its only recently that commercial aircraft have had them fitted after they realised what a significant amount of fuel they saved and how much they could increase payload. Your Easyjet A320s have them too :-)
Thank you for enabling me once more and its only fair as its needlework monday tomorrow :-)
Hope you're having a great weekend :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97