Sjennon sees the World #16 - Visiting Ko Nang Yuan, Thailand

in #travel6 years ago

White beaches, clear waters, tropical fishes - what else do we need?

In my opinion, Koh Tao has many highlights. However one thing you can absolutely not miss is the Ko Nang Yuan island.

What is a funky beach? Ko Nang Yuan! The beach connects the two islands and partly disappears with high tide. If that ain't magic then I do not know what is!

The island has a pier, a restaurant, some diving schools and a resort. Snorking is amazing here as the fishes are pretty close to the beach. The restaurant is more expensive than average as it has a monopoly on the island, so if you're just going for the day and don't want to spend a lot of money, make sure to bring your own snacks.

Also, I've heard diving was absolutely amazing here - however I do not have my PADI or similar so i can't say from personal experience.

Here are some random pictures I took from the island:

The viewpoint

You can reach the viewpoint by a short 10-minute-ish walk up. The first part is stairs and killing, after that it's pretty doable and then it's climbing onto giant boulders and then you're there!

I discovered during my travels that I loathe hiking uphill, but I must say that I am okay with 10 minutes only and the view is stunning!

How to get to Ko Nang Yuan?

It's only a 10/15 minute boatride away from the Koh Tao beach and definitely worth seeing. Talk to one of the thousand boat taxi's and discuss a price. I think we got a return bargain for 200 Thai Baht per person. He will bring you to the pier and will ask for a pick-up time. Once on the island, you are asked to pay 100 TBH entry to preserve the island (yeah, yeah, we get it). After that though, you're good to go!

Mind you, the island closes at 5PM, so make sure to go a bit earlier to enjoy the weather, the beach and the island itself. We went around 1PM to the taxi boat and it was perfect.

Sort:  

Nice places.......:)...

Amazing place! Have been once to Thailand but never to Ko Nang Yuan. Now, it's on my list thanks to you.

It's simply a day trip but definitely worth checking out! Really cool too if you wanna snorkel or dive!

It seems wondergful trip. Sea, tree, sun and amazing views. Enjoy your trip!

It really was! I loved it! Thanks :)

That view is amazing! Definitely worth the hike up. I’m really digging all the hues of the water. Enjoy the sunshine ☀️

Yeesss, it was beautiful. I now see that I forgot to post the panorama picture I made :(

It was so beautiful and clear! Amazing :D

Thailand is a great place as there are so many islands around which are so beautiful and not crowded. Your pictures make me wanna go to Thailand again:(

It was pretty crowded to be honest :o Maybe not so much visible on the pictures though!

Astonishing landscape, this part of Thailand must be a fantastic place for nomads of all kinds :) Great photos btw.

Yes it is! However internet is not the greatest here - with mobile data and hotspots or a dongle it is doable!

Ah cool, thanks for the tips :) We have been living as digital nomads for the last couple of years but havent made it to Asia yet (shame, I know :D)

Ooh, where have you been though? :D

Well, mostly Europe and Central America :) We usually prefer longer stays (several months up to one year) rather than hopping from one place to another. What destination did you like most so far?

I think that's a very nice contribution. It is written with devotion and decorated with beautiful photos.

Aw thank you!

whether your support is specific to the country thailand

How do you mean?

I am wrong.
How are you today..

Wow! I'm amazed :)

Ha good! :P That was the intention!

Excellent ...! Genuinely Good work..! ! Thank You for sharing this on steemit!

You're very welcome. Thanks for stopping by ~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56