Looking around Chang Deok Goong : The road to the Main Building for King's Reign

in #travel6 years ago

20171230

Whenever I was free, I used to look around the historical site in Korea.
One day my elder brother joined with me on looking around. He was my cousin and we had grown up together.

When we were kids, there was a strong influence of agricultural society.
In our age, Cousins are as same as the siblings.

Talking to my cousin, he was really brilliant. He was thought as a genius.

That day when I’d like to look around the Chang Deok Going, I proposed him to be with me.
The reason to look around Chang Deok Goong was to walk through the Secret Garden of Chang Deok Goong.

But we were not allowed to enter into the Secret Garden, we were slightly late on time for buying tickets for the Secret Garden. The Secret Garden was the back garden for the King and Queen. It is said that the Secret Garden is one of the most well preserved Garden in the world.

Even though we were late for the Secret Garden, we could buy the tickets for Chang Deok Goong.

Oh, let me explain the meaning of Chang Does Goong.
I’ve explained several times on Goong, the Palace.

Chang means ‘broaden’ and Deok means ‘virtue’

It means that King should broaden the virtue for his people.
This name reflected Confucian philosophy thoroughly.

It was long time ago when I had visited Chang Deok Goong last, so I was very pleased to look around there.

The name of main gate was Don Wha Moon.

The meaning is ‘make the harmony bigger and stronger’
In Confucian society, the harmony is very important value.
What the westerners could not understand in Korean, Japanese and China is the harmony.

The harmony itself is very good value, but sometimes it has been disturbing the individualism which is the most important value for Democracy.

If you are westerner, you need to understand the atmosphere of the trend of Harmony.

As soon as passing through the main gate, there is a road which is consist of three parts.
The center was a road for king and either sides were for green and princes.

Here I walked on the center road. When you visit Korea and Chang Deok Goong, I recommend you walk on the center road with the feeling of becoming a King.

There were many tourists taking the selfie with Korean traditional costumes.
You can rent the korean traditional costumes, then you can enter into the palace with free.

As entering into the Palace, what made me amazing was the trees. The trees around the kings road were very mysterious and taking cared very well.

My brother told me Chang Deok Goong would be upmost beautiful in Spring, Summer and Fall.
But it was really beautiful for me even in Winter.

Finally we arrived at In Jeong Jeon, the main official building for King’s reign.

Thank you Steemians.

Let me post In Jeong Jeon next time

Sort:  

An interesting post, @slowwalker, describing an agrarian society that was focussed on the Confucian value of harmony--subjugating the individual will for the greater good of society.

You are right about western democracies - this concept is quite alien to us. Most of our great democratic societies have been birthed in Individualism and the rights of the Individual. The French and American Revolutions attest to that--Canada and England have had a less extreme expression of this sentiment but we largely agree--Kings and Queens should not be permitted to lord it over the people.

I would definitely walk down that middle road reserved for kings, if for no other reason than to assert my independence as an individual. Imagine secret gardens exclusive to royalty and the people who support this are struggling just to survive!

I loved the photos of the lacy tree branches silhouetted against the sky. They do indeed look mysterious.

Sometimes these remnants of the past serve a purpose to remind us of the gradual libration of all of humanity from the oppression of unjust systems. We can celebrate the art and poetry of the past but these grand monuments only serve to remind us of the progress made in human rights. Nostalgia for earlier times mostly points out the shadows.

I wish you a prosperous and joyous New Year my friend.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment.
Your comments always make me think further.
The legacy of Confucian philosophy was a strong internal power for us to develop Korea.
But it is now becoming the obstacle for further progress especially in political area.

In this year, it was great present for me to meet you here in Steemit.
I wish you a happiness and a health next year.
Happy New Year.

Good read, thanks :)

As always, lovely photography sir. That is a marvelous palace, full of wonderful history. More power to you @slowwalker, and have an awesome year end! :)

I agree unique style

thank you
Happy New Year

That's a nice picture.
Have a good traver.

Thank you so much

I actually cannot wait to visit a place like this, crypto might just get me there, cool post I love the pictures

I hope your dream come true

What a spectacular structure, love the history behind it too!

very beautiful photos of beautiful places, i also like historical places ,these are very different and have a unique story in it

Pictures tell the story of the place.
soon I will be visiting Korea to see all these nice historical buildings.

Welcome anytime
Happy New Year

Los hermanos siempre serán considerados así Cuando esa persona con cualquier parentesco se gane un buen lugar en nuestra vida. Que bellos paisajes lograste admirar.

Happy New Year, my friend

Wonderful pictures 👍👍👍👍

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62947.22
ETH 3174.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81