The Buddhist Temple ‘Ghak Won Sa’ for the Unification of Korean Peninsular

in #travel6 years ago

Korean peninsular was divided into 2 countries South and North after liberation from the colonial rule of the Japanese imperialist. The northern part of Korea was controlled by Soviet Army and the U.S. Army entered into the Southern part of Korea in 1945.

Naturally the communists seized the political power under the protection of Soviet Russia, on the contrary the southern part of Korea had experienced extreme confrontation between the Liberals and the Communists. At that time the U.S Army thought the Soviet Army as a their alliance.

The Southern part was finally succeeded in making a free government and the Northern part had built the communist government in1948. It meant that there existed 2 governments in one nation.

Korean Peninsular became a sacrifice goat of the Cold war. Stalin and Mao tried to seize the full control over the Korean peninsular. They ordered Kim Il Sung break a war on South Korea. At that time, the U.S. government declared that they would not protect South Korea and Taiwan.

With this news, Kim Il Sung attacked the South Korea in June 25th 1950. More than 2 million civilians were reported to be killed in this war. More than 10 million people separated with their family.
Finally the U.S. Army intervened and more than 35,000 American soldiers were killed in action.

All these sacrifices were the result of the declaration of the US government not to protect the South Korea and Taiwan. If the communists were succeeded in Korean War, next objective would be Taiwan.

Along with this historical background, the Unification became the most important homework to Korean.

Some day one of my colleague told me that there was the temple with a desire for the Unification of Korean Peninsular. So we decided to look around the temple.

It was a warm winter morning. It snowed the day before when we went over the temple.
This temple was located in Cheon An city, the middle area of South Korea.

The temple was very large. The main building was the biggest among the Buddhist building in Korea in my guess.
But what attracted me was not a magnificent scale but falling water from the eaves.

The snow melting water was falling. It was so beautiful. I tried to take the photos. But it was not so successful my camera lens was not to powerful to catch a moment of feeling. I need a better lens.

Anyway I entered into the main building and took some photos of Buddha statues and Drawings.

The main purpose of this visiting was looking at the biggest bronze Buddha statue in East Asia.

This statue has 15m heights.

How did they made this large bronze statue ?

It is said that this biggest bronze statue and the biggest main building were dedicated to Buddha for the Unification of Korean Peninsular.

I missed to tell the size of the main building.
But the photos below would explain how the size of this main building was.
The name of this thing is Yong chi meaning the teeth of dragon.
The size of Yong chi is about 2 or 3 times bigger than me

This Yong chi was put on the top corner of the roof.

I took some photos of the statue. You can estimate the size of the statue with people standing and praying.

I turned around the statue praying for the unification of Korean peninsular.

Up until now, I have been searching the old historical spots.

But that day, I realized that this day was also a part of history.

Moments become a history.

Sort:  

Wow, this is awesome Thank .you so much for the well written and informative post. Excellent pictures, too! You may be interested in this article on the main Buddhist temple complex in Seoul: https://steemit.com/travel/@raci/a-night-walk-in-the-bongeunsa-buddhist-temple-complex-an-oasis-of-serenity-in-the-busy-heart-of-seoul

thank you
that temple is near my apartment.
I'd like to post on that temple once more

How lucky you are to live in that area 😍 looking forward to more posts from you

I love all the minute details on those doors and windows. It's apparent that great attention and craftsmanship was poured in every nook and cranny of this temple. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading

These are great photos! So much work went into the detail of each structure. We take for granted how amazing and creative humans are. Thank you for taking the time to make such a cool blog!

Thank you so much

Binance registration is open

Signup Link

Incredible place to go & nice photos! thanks for sharing.

의미느 뒤로 두더라도
산사의 겨울은 정말 멋지네요
순간을 포착하느라 많은 노력이 들어갔을 텐데...
고맙습니다. 잘보고 갑니다.

감사합니다. ㅎㅎ

Amazing! I love seeing photos of beautiful temples. Thanks for sharing.

an intriguing post today, @slowwalker.

It seems that Korea is always at the mercy of foreign powers and the Korean people are always under a stage of siege.

Perhaps the recent overture from the North Koreans might eventually lead to easing tensions in your country - I certainly hope so.

I was able to discern the subtle lines of snow water melting from the roof and it did indeed look beautiful especially against the snowy background of the trees.

I agree with you - I have no idea how such a huge bronze Buddha statue could be cast - that in itself is a mystery.

I will join my prayers with yours for peace in the region. The Korean people deserve a respite from conflict and perhaps the time is near for that to occur. I sincerely pray that it does.

Have a good day, my friend.

@johnjgeddes ! So sweet of you bud... I mean now a days negativity is all around. There is always two faces of any issue we should also look at positive side. @slowwalker I Pray you guys to be success and happy.. #stay blessed man.. :)

You are welcome ! please support me also.. @johnjgeddes please..

Thanks for giving us an insight on this matter. I have never really known much about it. And don't worry about the lenses. To me the 4th photo of the temple is the best photo in this post!

Thank you for your pray.
I really wish peace in my country

Wow, this would be amazing in Steemit World Map , your pics are mesmerizing and crispy and the quality of your content is insane.

Consider adding it to the map and joining the contest I made that I hope to encourage more users to contribute to the map with.

Check it out.Steemit World Map Challenge #1 No losers!

Hope you read your comments, see this and decide to contribute because your work is amazing and would benefit the map greatly!

thank you for your tip

np, thanks for your vote, it's highly appreciated :)

These images reflect the traditions and culture of the State of Korea, in fact it is a wonderful country .Great picture I like that post following you

thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62