Unexpected Building In Songgwangsa Temple Of Suncheon, Korea

in #travel6 years ago

When I passed through a last gate to the temple, there were strange looking small traditional building. Those small buildings made me curious.

_4140277.JPG

Even though I have looked over more than 100 temples in Korea, it was the first time for me to look at those buildings.

As I got to there closer, the introductory standing board made me surprise.
The purpose of those buildings was cleaning bodies when people die.

As you know, Buddhists have been cremating when people die.
Before cremating, they had been cleaning bodies in this building.

The left building was for cleaning woman’s body. It’s name was “Sae Wol Dang” meaning the house of cleaning moon. They used the moon as a metaphor for woman’s body.

_4140279.JPG

This buildings had been made in 19 century according to the board.

Near the last gate and at the end of the road, there was a large rock on which the names were carved.

_4140276.JPG

Maybe they tried their names to be remembered forever.
Why did they carve their names near the building of cleaning bodies ?

People whose names were carved in the rock were dead with the hope of not forgotten.
But nobody remember their name now.

I was standing near those architectures in a while thinking the meaning of human life.

Sort:  

Sharp and clean view for home loan to live in privacy..

A great sense of pleasure and calmness enters our mind after watching these beautiful images. I am really impressed by these photography skills of yours. In India we have many caves where the Beautiful carvings of civilization is there on the walls.

I really want to visit India

I hope you will some day @slowwalker, nim.

Wow .. beautiful magical place
Amazing photos
Thank you for sharing with us your adventure‏..

First time I hear about something like this. I would love to discover that kind of places myself aswell. But your last thought made me think about meaning of human life too. Thats deep.

Thank you for your comment

I hope you had an optimistic answer to your question about the meaning of life. I had the same question, but I am very happy with my own answer. But everybody has to find his answer. cheers love your blogs.

It is always nice to have an optimistic way of life. I totally agree with you.

I am glad that you have decided to choose the optimistic way. it took me 24 years 😊

Looks like a monastery. Peaceful.

süper..

Muy buen post 😎

It's a natural platform for Korean building

Wow! Beautiful photography. 😍
Thanks @slowwalker for sharing this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94