Walking Along the"Hwa Sung" Fortress in Suwon City, Korea.

in #travel6 years ago

The King who had built this fortress and palace was Jung Jo, the 22nd king of Choson Dynasty.
He had lived for 48 years from 1752 to 1800.

He was the last enlightened monarch in Choson dynasty. It could be said that Choson kingdom lost it’s potential power and will for further progress with his death.

There had existed serious controversy between the factions in Choson Dynasty, his father was killed among this faction conflicts.

Even though his father had serious mental problems, his death was forced by the faction conflict.

King Jung Jo made his mind to move the capital from Seoul to Suwon to remove those faction controversy.
The Palace and Fortress in Suwon was called ‘Hwa Sung’
He almost finished the new palace, but he died before the palace had been completed.

Whole distance of the wall was approximately 5 km.
Mom and I had walked half of the wall.

She looked little bit tired, so I stopped to continue to walk.

_3310325.JPG

Below was the observatory post near the gate

_3310313.JPG

Interesting thing was the way they preserved the wall in current situations.
The did not remove the wall, instead they made a hole for the traffic as below.
Their try looked not bad for me.

_3310319.JPG

While walking along the fortress wall with my mom, I took photos of the fortress of 'Hwa Sung'

_3310321.JPG

_3310324.JPG

_3310323.JPG

As walking along the wall, I saw a strange building which looked like to be cut off by half.
It might be the first time for me to see this kinds of building.

It was interesting for me how this building could be possible in structural aspect.

_3310326.JPG

On the wall, there was an artillery cannon of 19 century.

_3310331.JPG

One thing strange for me was that there was a pavilion outside of the wall.
Why did they make that pavilion out side of the wall ?

_3310352.JPG

Besides that pavilion was so beautiful.

_3310357.JPG

It was very nice excursion for me to strolling along the wall with my mom.
I'd like to recommend you walk along the fortress wall to meet coming Spring.

In next posting, I'd like to post on the Main Gate of this fortress wall.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

The building is very impressive and I also seem well preserved ...

Yes very well preserved

Beautiful photography!

Quite an impressive building of the Choson dynasty @slowwalker the buildings and the walls are stunning and really had been built to withstand a siege. It's a good thing that you and mom toured the fortress and we learned a lot about Korean history and way of life in the past.

Thank you cryptopie

A beautiful story. I have already learned a lot about your country from your posts. Thanks, very interesting.

Thank you so much

Impressive indeed. I like the way you snapped all these beautiful shots and the pictures are eye catching indeed, make me wanna visit due to beautiful Korean history. Upped-always and happy holiday season. Today I posted about steem and crypto prices and strategies to succeed-feel free to see it. I wish you more success.

Thank you so much

Nice place.

with the story, and the history of the people, the people will be able to understand the history and culture in korea, and people can imitate the goodness of history and culture, according to culture in korea, amazing friend, success made, @slowwalker

Good point, I agree. Upped

You are welcome my friend,,

Thank you for your comment and warm words

Visting places like this is my dream and oh that cannon!

this is a very grand and great royal story @slowwalker.
thank you for sharing the story of the history of the past and we will all know more.

Thank you for reading

Very beautiful and full of history place, thanks for your sharing to us, have a nice travel brother @slowwalker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59