Travel: Manila-Guangzhou Trip (with video)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Travel: Trip to China (Manila to Guangzhou or make that Guangzhou Airport)

P_20180310_022309_BF.jpg

My March 9, 2018 was supposedly a great day. It was my flight to mainland China and I was oh-so-ready to have my first taste of spring. However, I got a text from my technician that he hasn’t started fixing my old ASUS phone and Sony Ericson yet. I would love to use both for my trip. And there’s the news that my oh-so-precious Lee Dong Wook is dating Suzy Bae. I think many of my readers were bitterella like me and seriously, I don’t want to crowd my wall with ampalaya plus. But the start of my day was not great.
However, it didn’t deter me from making sure that I would make the most out of my trip to China. So my Tita Minda and I rode and Uber courtesy of Tito Peter who took us to the airport. That’s P1000 from Rodriguez, Rizal to NAIA. Not a bad deal.
We arrived wayyyy too early for our 6:55 PM flight, we decided to pass our time by eating some of our food and drink up our to make our baggage lighter. Hahaha! We were kinda crazy with excess baggage issue and all even if I told my aunt that our luggage is fine.

P_20180309_152652.jpg

And I had just started exploring my ASUS Zenphone. It has a timelapse. Hahaha! So, sue me. I am not the techie type and I didn’t know how to use it before. You can see some shots below.

There’s no problem with our flight. I won’t really mind if we arrive late because we will sleep in the airport anyway. But thanks to Cebu Pac for taking us to Guangzhou safely and on time. And I even won their pouch during the game. They asked where to find Panglao Island and I got it - BOHOL. Of course, I love Panglao. Salamat, Cebu Pac! Bibong-bigo ako. Hahaha! Tamad pa ako niyan at brokenhearted.

So, we don’t have issues with the money changer. Sanrys Money Changer in Trinoma and Robinsons Galleria got it covered. However, we were not so lucky with the internet connection. I was supposed to buy China SIM at Pinoy Unlimited Data Abroad where I bought my HK-Macau sim last October.

P_20180309_173747.jpg
*This is where you can buy international sim cards

Too bad, the China SIM that I want (P950 reloadable, no expiration sim) hasn’t arrived yet. It would be too impractical to buy the P1150 sim card for seven days since I would stay in China for a couple of weeks. Then, we arrived at the airport and the sim card was pricey. That’s 180 Yuan for my 100 yuan budget. I would just buy later when we arrive in Kunming. I forgot to install Wechat. And I think we missed the wifi booth. Pffff! So no internet for us.

IMG_20180309_230525.jpg

We ate at Mcdonald’s where I gave myself 30 yuan budget. Hmmm… it was a bit pricey if you will compare it to Mcdonald’s Philippines. Yeah! The usual P25 hot choco and coffee was 12 yuan (more or less P100) in Guangzhou. Burget and fries would with drinks for 50 yuan. Whew! So what did I buy for 30 yuan? Five-piece chicken nuggets (12 yuan) and Jumbo Bubble tea for (18 yuan). Hey! I am a milk tea girl. Can’t blame me if I splurged a bit. After all, I still got luncheon meat and rice prepared by my mom. Tita Minda shared her fries and grilled chicken sandwich with me.

P_20180310_010040.jpg

And do you know that along with the drinking fountain is hot water and paper cup? Yiz! You can bring your 3-in-1 coffee or hot choco or tea and fix your own for free.

So it was such a longggg night. I wasn’t sleepy yet. I looked for a place where I can work on my latest novel - A Clash With A Knight. There were sockets where you could plug in your devices, that is if you could last long on the icy-cold floor. Pero kevs naman. I wanna write.

So I was working, slumped on the cold floor of the airport when cleaning lady auntie talked to me. She was speaking in Chinese and I was scared at first. (Praning much) I thought she would tell me that I can’t use the socket for charging for something. But she gave me some newspaper to seat on so I won’t feel so cold. Ahhh! Auntie was soooo nice. Xi Xi, Auntie. She told me to put it on a trashcan afterwards.

P_20180310_011101_BF.jpg

Tip when traveling abroad - always smile, be nice and be courteous to locals. Most of them were really nice. And be thankful for the gestures and even for the smile.

Expenses:

Uber Montalban to NAIA 3 - P1000 (for 2 pax)
Travel tax - P1620 (per pax)
Flight Manila-Guangzhou via Cebu Pac - P3902 (for 2 pax with 20 kls baggage and insurance)
Mcnuggets and milk tea - 30 yuan

So this is Sofia signing off for now. I will be back for my Day 2 of my trip to China. Muah!

Part 2: https://steemit.com/travel/@sofiaphr/travel-guangzhou-kunming-louping-county-with-video

Hi everyone!!
Please help us support @surpassinggoogle's project @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens) and follow Teardrops on Faceboook.
I encourage you all to support and vote for @surpassinggoogle, @pfunk, @blocktrades, @timcliff and also @precise as your witness.
Just click HERE and type 'steemgigs', 'pfunk', 'blocktrades', 'timcliff' and 'precise' on the first box.
ocd-resteem philippines steemph

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67006.39
ETH 3124.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78