Shimogamo-jinja Shrine - Kyoto, Japan 京都・下鴨神社

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello
I visited Kyoto for 3 days to see my friend.
This is the third blog about my Kyoto trip.
All pictures are taken by me.

IMG_0214.jpg

There are thousands of temples and shrines in Kyoto.
Kyoto is well-known city for having so many historical tourist spots.
Among those spot, here is [ Shimogamo-jinja Shrine ] 下鴨神社
It's one of popular shrine in Kyoto.
( Link to HP http://www.shimogamo-jinja.or.jp )

It is said that the history of this shrine has started at least two thousands years ago.
It's unbelievable history right?
Two National Treasure buildings are there.

Let me explain the meaning of the name of this shrine.
This shrine is located in the lower KAMO-gawa river, the city's central river.
"Shimo-" means lower.
And “-gamo” comes from KAMO-gawa river.

IMG_0212.jpg

The weather was perfect.
You can see the great combination of Red and Green.
I really like it.

IMG_0213.jpg

Shimogamo-jinja Shrine has also the big forest.
It's called Tadasu-no-mori. 糺の森
Green of this forest is really beautiful.

IMG_0217.jpg

Thank you for reading!
I hope you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53