Day 1

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemiters,

What you will see next it's a series of notes that I have written, almost like a diary or a thoughts journal. What differentiates it is the fact that they are not secrets, I love to share my written thoughts with the world from time to time.

As I mentioned in my first post I will share my 8-month solo backpacking adventures via notes and pictures I wrote while traveling. Starting from day one. Let's do it.

DAY 1

March 6, 2017

I'm so thrilled and nervous about my first trip. I have never been in another country. Well.... besides the West Coast and parts of Mexico but only because my parents live next to the border.

I was able to reschedule my job interviews in San Diego so I can spend more time in Israel. I'm very confident I will get the job.

My mom is driving me to the airport in San Diego. Which I'm kind of nervous for both of us because her car is not in the best condition. I can't sleep, all I keep thinking is that I'm going to have my passport stamp for the first time!

I arrive 3 hours early to the airport. It's very lonely here no one has arrived. It's just me and a security guard which I keep making awkward eye contact with. The airport begins to come alive and I finally board.

We landed in Israel!!!! After a long flight, I'm so disoriented. The lady next to my seat told me she is jealous of me. I asked why and she said that I was like a dead body next to her. Didn't make noise, move or wake up. Only because I was dead tired, couldn't sleep in Arizona. (Thanks to this I didn't experience jet lag on my first flight with a + 10hr difference. AMAZING!)

As I walked out of the plane to passport control I began to feel nervous. All I see and hear is Hebrew. I can't believe I'm in another country and I'm about to see Maria, my best friend!

I connect to wifi and see messages from Maria telling me she anxiously waiting for me; seeing the doors open and closing hoping I'm the next one to come out.

I feel so many emotions, I feel pressure on my chest and I can't control it.

I finally see her, she is waving her hands desperately and my heart just skips a beat, I instantly feel a lot of happiness. Her hugs are so deep, I genuinely feel the love she has for me. Touching her, feeling and seeing her lovely smile makes me so happy and it just feels so damn good to have next to me and not on my phone screen.

I needed her next to me. I have been waiting for this moment for the longest time. I'm so happy I can talk to her and I can see her straight in the eyes and she is able to comfort me because I still feel a little dead inside. I hear her laugh and I'm just so overwhelmed with joy. I can laugh back and actually feel happy.

We took a bus to Jerusalem... She leans on me, places her head on my shoulder and falls asleep. All I think is that she is still the same as always. She always falls asleep in long bus rides which I love because I love listening to music in long bus rides. Can I repeat how happy I am to be here?

I hope you enjoyed this one, thank you for reading.
By the way, what was the first country you traveled to or wish to if you have never traveled?

fullsizeoutput_2949.jpeg
I always thought airports were crowded and open. This is a picture I took once my mom dropped me of in the San Diego airport around 2 am.

fullsizeoutput_294a.jpeg
When I packed, I had no suitcase to take because I never travel so I borrow a carry on from my sister. I packed clothes enough for two weeks with a pair of flats. The black duffel bag is full of Mexican sweets for Maria. Yes, those are sleeping pills, that I never used because I fell asleep before the Pilot even said to put your phones in airplane mode.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73