Day 2

in #travel6 years ago

DAY 2

March 7, 2017

We visited the Holy Sepulcher Church, I was very amazed yet I don't feel or realize how holy this place is for so many. I feel very fortunate to be here I just wish I could embrace as much as some of the other people here. I know my mother would be extremely happy to be here. So I will try to enjoy it as much as she would.

As we walked to the church everything looked different, like nothing I ever have seen before. The floor, walls, people, language and many other things.

We finally make it to the church and it looks normal, it looks hidden. As we enter, I see the slab fo limestone; this stone is supposedly known to be where the body of Jesus was laid down before his burial. A lot of people are crying, rubbing their tissues and rosaries in the stone.

We go up the stairs to see the “Chapel of Calvary” and there is a long line to see and touch the rock. It’s easy to miss the entrance to the "Chapel of Calvary" because is a narrow and steep staircase. Yet, people who go without a tour guide still find the way up. It's a very small floor with two chapels side by side. Greek Orthodox on the left and Catholics on the right, which can easily point out because other than their theological difference and debates their art is very distinct from one another.

There is a small altar where people can kneel beneath in order to touch the rock, through a silver disk. It is believed to be the rock where Jesus cross was raised. You can see the remaining of this rock on either side of the altar thru a see-thru glass.

Although I was raised Catholic nothing seems to draw me to the religion or any other; besides prayers in times of need. So I decided to pray every time I feel sad or when my thoughts start to take control. Because I'm tired of this saddening feeling.

No more past, no more sad memories. I want to write how good my day was and not these depressing thoughts. Although it's been only two days since I've been here and I love it, I can’t wait to start my life in San Diego, run by the beach and have a tan looking skin.

Goodnight life.

fullsizeoutput_216e.jpeg
“Chapel of Calvary”

fullsizeoutput_2170.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_216f.jpeg
This is a small altar where people kneel and put their hand on a small opening that allows them to touch the rock.

34758945_2044959422408874_3965361863503380480_n.jpg
Ceiling on top of the Sepulchre.

Sort:  

I Love everything about March 7th... Glad u had heavenly memories from that day too.

Thank you sooo very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71