Day 8

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemiters,

March 13th was exactly a week since I arrived in Israel. At this point, I started to feel a different energy from my family. Especially my sister, Ness. Not a bad one but just more distant.

My dad started questioning me if I really had the intentions of coming back to the states. Which I genuinely did, I had bought my ticket back to California. I paid over 1000 dollars for these tickets. I was not just going to lose my money and cancel my flight.

A little history about Ness and I.
We are the only two siblings. We grew up together but with very different personalities. Total opposites; I'm loud and she is not, I'm talkative and she is not, I'm outgoing and she is shy. I love to stargaze and she loves Netflix. I love alternative rock and she loves Mexican banda... and the list goes on. We love each other so much but for some strange reason, we have grown apart from one another. She is not very expressive and she likes to keep to herself a lot. I always want to know what's going on, in her life. (Not the annoying kind)

That said, Ness is in some ways jealous of Maria because Maria and I are very close too. Sometimes even more than what Ness has been to me these past few years. I love them both very much, I pray for someday they can find some common ground and like each other. Not that they hate each other they are just both very different.

In all honesty, I know they both jealous of each other----CAN'T HELP IT... IM THAT AWESOME

I have a small detail that can go a long way...

About a couple months prior January 2017 there was a very close friend to whom I shared my situation with that chose to back away from me. This left me to discourage to tell people. It all proved to me that you really do find out who your true friends are when you are at your worst.

However, I slowly learned that not because people turn their back on you means they are bad. People are different so they react differently to situations. Just like some people are allergic to peanuts there are others who are not.

When my depression started to get worst, I isolated from everyone. I didn't want everyone that knew me to find out I was a mess. I was also afraid I would lose the only friends I had left. Until I started opening up to people about what was going on in my life and they were so supportive. I realize that whatever I was going thru I never had the necessity to go thru it alone.

After I told most of my close friends what I was going thru. My phone ring countless times every day with those close friends who lived in different countries. Nataly and Abraham lived in California and I can not stress enough how helpful and supportive they were to me.

I'm not an expert on the subject but I can surely help you by telling you how I did it. We just need to learn how to be kind to others and most importantly to ourselves.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/
1-800-273-8255

Day 8

March 13, 2017

So I arrived in Israel about a week ago and the hype is real about Purim.

There have been Purim parties since Thursday but the official one was today. Maria and Julian got very creative and made their own hot sauce costumes. I just bought some feathers and hippy out. I have never seen anything like this, I mean besides some street parties in California that I never went to.

First, the people get very creative with their costumes. They are not the typical Halloween stereotype sexy costume. There is a few but it is a small minority. Other than that you see mostly funny, out of this world ideas.

People were dancing in the streets, jumping and singing. There where DJ's in every corner of the streets. If there is a definition for "Dance like no one is watching" then I got a pretty accurate description.

Maria and Julian live in a neighborhood called Nachlaot. Which was exactly where the streets parties where taking place so we didn't have to worry about finding a parking lot.

I never thought I would experience something like this, let alone in another country. I was feeling so good about myself. Julian introduced me to his friends and they were all nice people, a little quiet but when the party started it was like they where different people.

After the party ended, we went back home and relaxed what a movie and fell asleep. I have been so busy that I'm finding it hard to call my parents every day at specific times. Though, I managed to call my dad at 5 am and spoke with him for a couple of minutes.

He knows my ticket is a two-way ticket back to California but he keeps asking me when I'm coming back. I can't help to feel sad that I'm having all this fun and they are just home. But at the same time, I feel like I deserve it too.

I really miss them, not any more or less than when I was in California. I guess I just got used to being away from them since I been in alone in California for the past 7 years. I know I miss them the most when I see amazing things. Like the Dead Sea, I can't get over of how amazing that place is.

Every day has been so different, I wonder why people that can afford to travel stay in their comfort zone and don't explore. They are missing out so much. I was missing out very much...

Goodnight life.

Purim Street Party
IMG_2996.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85