Join Me in My Travels: Edinburgh, Scotland!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

IMG_0919.JPG

Ever since I was a little kid, I wanted to visit Scotland. Maybe it was the accents that I’d only heard in movies, or perhaps it was all the pictures on the internet of vast fields, and amazing views. Don’t even get me started on the architecture! If you hadn’t already guessed, I kind of have a ‘thing’ for ancient, creepy-looking buildings. The older the building, the more interested I become.

Edinburgh-4K.jpg

So, when I got the chance to discover Scotland, I was beyond thrilled. Now, I am beyond excited to share my experience in Edinburgh, Scotland with you!

edinburgh-city-scotland.jpg

First thing to know about Edinburgh is that is a very compact city, and the capital of Scotland. This city has a medieval Old Town, and an elegant Georgian New Town encompassing beautiful gardens, and neoclassical buildings. A truly magnificent destination.

edinburgh-tours1.jpg

Looming high up on a cliff, over the city, is the Edinburgh Castle. This is where Scotland’s crown jewels and the Stone of Destiny sits. If you didn’t already know, the Stone of Destiny was used in the coronation of Scottish rulers!

edinburgh-castle.jpg

The Castle (aka, Castle Rock) was built over 700 years ago upon massive rocks, which were part of an ancient extinct volcano! Through the ages, Castle Rock has been used as a royal residence, a prison, and an army garrison. It is the most significant castle in Scotland, probably because it has been at the center of numerous wars, having been both attacked and besieged many times. Now it is a nationwide monument, gallery, and tourist attraction. Below is the Castle from another view:

Edinburgh-Castle-Pic-DRJPG.jpg

Many dark, creepy dungeons exist at Edinburgh Castle, where prisoners have been locked up and forgotten. Some of these cellars, you can still enter as a tourist with a tour group. One very deep, nasty prison-pit is concealed below the floor of King James’ birth chamber. No one knows who may have been thrown down there, or for how long prisoners were left.

tour_img-222871-148.jpg

Below is a picture of one of the prison rooms:

409.jpg

The top of Calton Hill is a quiet place to come on any day, with its grassy slopes and panoramic views of the city, this is a definite MUST see. Bring your camera, ensure that it is fully charged and enjoy!! I have even seen locals come up to Calton Hill to catch up on some book reading.

cover-photo.jpg

Calton Hill is easily accessible. It takes only five minutes to get to the top of the hill from a staircase at Regent Road on the South side, Royal Terrace on the North side, or you can drive up and park. I put on my hiking shoes, and just walked. Note: You don’t need hiking shoes to do this walk. It is just a bunch of stairs, and some grass. And it is definitely not a long walk.

22139812_10156828103324569_980188482_o.jpg

This is one of Scotland's famous monuments (See picture below), and is one of the most striking monuments. It was inspired by the Parthenon in Athens, and was intended to memorialize the Scottish servicemen who died in the Napoleonic Wars. However, it was never completed leaving just the twelve columns you see today.

c500d40336c02a7b1926c44cf56ab929.jpg

The Witchery restaurant is right down the road from the Castle. It is quite famous for its delicious food, although somewhat pricy, however I have heard great things! Now, unfortunately I cannot speak from experience, as the restaurant was too full so I didn’t get a chance to eat there. (Although I did sneak inside to take a few pictures during the off-hours... I say 'sneaked' but I did ask, OK?) Apparently they book up months in advance. A three-course set menu is £36 all day, everyday. And a two-course lunch special is £19.95. Definitely a top spot for a romantic dinner. Book in advance!

40.jpg

Below is another view of the Witchery:

the-witchery.jpg

This street reminds many people of Diagon Alley from Harry Potter. I was told that this is where J. K. Rowling got her idea for her books.

What-Do-Edinburgh-Scotland-1-Day.jpg

This was taken on my walk towards the Edinburgh Castle... I immediately recognized the song he was playing... For those of you who watched the TV Show, Outlander, you might remember the theme song. He was playing THAT song. I was in love, so I had to take this shot.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Thank you to everyone who read through my whole post! Please comment & let me know your thoughts! It brings me such joy hearing from my Steemian friends.

Best wishes to all of you,

Stephanie
xox

Sort:  

Beautifull Place 💙💙 and good enjoy the traveling💙

Hi @nomishiekh,

Thank you very much! I really loved it here... So peaceful.

welcome 💙

Edinburgh is such a magical place , taking the walk up to the castle truly makes you feel like you have been transported back in time ! Great post :)

Thank you very much!!! <3

@soul.searching There is a beautiful, beautiful and beautiful post once again. You didnt just tell it , you felt me it ...

HI @mthtklft,

Thank you so much!! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed reading through my post <3

Best wishes xoxoxo

Congratulations @soul.searching! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Absolutely love Edinburgh! Wish I could go back! Loved your article, beautiful photos

Hi @juliabain,

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond!! I loved it too :) And it brings me so much joy to hear you loved my article :D

Best wishes to you!

Stephanie

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @soul.searching to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

wow!! amazing places..how i wish i could visit your country someday..

I enjoyed the detail you put in your post. You are definitely getting more better at your travel posts. It's very nice to see minor things you've added that a reader can really take note of the difference between other posts. I liked the tips you put on not having to wear hiking shoes when going on the walk. That's very resourceful and helpful for people looking to journey there. Your photographs were very lovely as well. The Witchery eating spot looked so romantic! I can't imagine having a dinner like that. I hope one day you can book it with someone special to you. I'm glad you enjoyed your travel! Of course, again thank you for your post. I appreciate it so much. I am a liddoh reader living through you when I read these travel posts. Haha. It's so much fun!

Hi @camposmusing,

So sorry for late response! I haven't been on Steemit in a few days because life just got in the way... But when I first signed back on I say your response and it totally made my day!! I wanted to thank you SO much for taking the time to respond to my post! It is my privilege to show you these places, and it brings me such joy knowing that you enjoy them <3

Best wishes to you and happy thanksgiving!! Well.... happy Canadian thanksgiving... It is thanksgiving here this weekend ;D

No worries, lady! I understand. I hope you enjoyed your Canadian Thanksgiving. We had a three day weekend (holiday) too but not for Thanksgiving. Haha. Keep up the good work! :)

Great post and some good travels! best thing I ever did was sell everything and start travelling. About to embark on a sailing journey from Vancouver BC to Thailand over the next year... still need a few crew members!

WoW! That will be wonderful!!! I am from Vancouver Island, BC. About how long will it take you to sail from Vancouver to Thailand?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55