Switzerland's Romantic Town: Interlaken & Gimmelwald

in #travel7 years ago

Hello Steemit Friends,

If you are searching for a romantic setting, beautiful Interlaken is the place to visit! Of course, it is not unusual for a town to sit near a river, but for it to sit between two lakes, is pretty amazing! And there's more... This beautiful town is in the heart of the magnificent Jungfrau region, and Interlaken actually happens to be the largest town in the region. I consider the Jungfrau a "MUST SEE" in Switzerland.

I was there in the middle of June, and it was spectacular!! I remember thinking, the water is so blue... and so clear... It blew my mind.

interlaken 1.JPG

Morning of Day 1: I spent so much time at Lake Thun, sun-bathing and swimming in the fresh water!

interlaken 4.JPG

Morning of Day 2: More Relaxation!

sun bathing.JPG

The combination of waterfalls, sunny valleys, massive steep rock walls, and snow peaked mountains make for the perfect scenery. Keep in mind that this area is small, and travelers can easily make a round trip in a day, however, the weather really dictates your plans. It is worth it to wait for clear skies to see the mountains in its full glory!

Gimmelwald is a tiny, car-free village near Murren. Experienced travelers know to seek out the offbeat places, skipping the resorts & spas, and focusing instead on gems like Gimmelwald.

This traffic-free village hangs nonchalantly on the edge of a cliff, high above the Lauterbrunnen Valley, 30 minutes south of Interlaken by car or train.There are not many facilities, except small places to shop and eat. This is a beautiful village for relaxation, and sight-seeing. Definitely one of my favourites!!!

This was where us travelers ate our lunch, staring with a doe-eyed look at the beautiful view of the mountains!

gimmelwald 3.JPG

Although Switzerland was VERY expensive. Especially for someone like me, who was paying for everything in Canadian dollars. Regardless of the cost, I would go back.

IMG_4846.JPG

Your opinion is so important to me. Please take a second of your time and like, and comment on my post. I would love to hear your thoughts and stories from your travels! Don't be a stranger and say HI :)

Yours Truly,

Stephanie
xox

Sort:  

it is very romantic atmosphere there best suited for honeymoon and also a place to have fun a moment relax with family fun

Yes, it is a great place to do all of that! Thanks for the comment <3

Waooow ! I really like your pictures. The water from the lake thun is mind blowing. I would dream to go there.

Yes, I know right!!! It is SO blue, it is unbelievable!! Felt like a fairy-tale dream land...

Crazy even. I hope to be able to see it one day by myself and bath in it...

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Such a beautiful place in the world ! The scenery is breathtaking and the local cheese is amazing ! I can't wait to go back there again :)

Yes, me too! It is always a perfect spot for a vacation <3

This post and pictures remindes me twenty years ago, when i lived in Bern... Beautiful Switzerland, Alps, rivers, lakes... Beautiful nature.

Wow! How long did you live there for? I visited Bern as well. Beautiful place.

My father worked there, so I lived with him for a year... One great year! But then the life moved me away to other places...

Wow! That is fantastic. I have always wanted to move to a place like Switzerland and live there for at least a few months to truly understand what it is like to live there! Where are you located now?

How beautiful and peaceful it must be to be able to journey and travel to this beautiful place you have shared with us. May your journey always keep you safe and protected where ever you may be. Beautiful pictures!

Thanks so much girl!!! This was definitely one of my all-time favorite places to travel <3

@soul.searching really wonderful pictures " heaven in the world"

Thank you very much!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57