"BikeVENTURE" - A Trip to Bulok-bulok Cold Spring (June 7, 2018)

in #travel6 years ago

"BikeVENTURE" Starter Pack:


IMG_4067.JPG

IMG_4069.JPG

  1. Cap – I find this as a necessity every time I go biking/cycling in order to protect me from the heat of the sun especially on a sunny day.
  2. Sling bag – I used the bag as a storage for my phone and the camera and other stuffs that I use whenever I go biking/cycling.
  3. Phone and headset – Definitely a good playlist stored on the phone makes the trip not boring because music helps you to escape from the reality and together with the headset.
  4. Camera – Since my phone is low in specs especially its camera so I won’t be able to take high quality photos. In my case I am using digital camera Canon Power Shot A800.
  5. Mountain bike"Bikeventure" won’t be possible without my bicycle. It’s been with me for about 8 years because I had acquired it when I was still in high school. It is still in good condition but I’ve done lots of repairs already because of its age. Supposed to be it has gears but now it doesn’t have it anymore which makes it tough for me specially going uphill because I’m stuck only with one default gear. Anyways, that doesn’t hinder me to go on biking/cycling because I’m already used to it. Hopefully, soon enough I’ll be able to buy a new bicycle.

          It was earlier today that I had decided to go for an adventure which I called “BikeVENTURE” and it is so obvious why I call it that way. Summer ain’t over for me yet and due to a boring noon at home I immediately decided to go for a swim and luckily I know a perfect place to go. In a flash I prepared the things that I needed before heading to the spring. It is not that really far from our house because it will only took me 15 minutes in order to reach the place. One of the reasons why it's that fast because the terrain is somewhat downhill so speed is not a problem because all I need to do is freewheeling. But it doesn’t mean that it’s that easy because mostly of the terrain is rough and knowing that my bicycle has no shocks in it so I still need to maintain a desired speed in order not to damage the bike specially its wheels. The weather is sunny today so I have to deal with the heat of the sun during my trip so I have to take stops and rest time after time. On the other hand there is this uphill terrain that I get to pass before I can reach the place and since I had no gears I need to pedal hard enough. Basically, the road going to said cold spring is still in progress of development, some parts of it are already concrete but still it’s too far from being finished. I've been to the spring many times before together with my family, relatives and friends. It is an accessible summer getaway without getting far away from home. We even go there by walking even though it is somehow tiring and will definitely take us quite a long walk. Most people from here says that you're not from here if you haven't gone to said cold spring. As a matter of fact many people from neighboring barangay’s came to visit the spring especially during summer. I don't really have any idea to why the place is called "Bulok-bulok" and I don't have the chance to ask the people who lives there to what is the origin or the history to why it is called that way.


Photos taken on my way to the cold spring:

  • I had my first stop and rest so I took the opportunity to take a photo under the heat of the sun.

IMG_4071.JPG


  • A shot of place to where I had my first stop.

IMG_4072.JPG


  • The only concrete terrain along the way. It is where I had my freedom to go full speed.

IMG_4074.JPG


  • Another rest, another stop.

IMG_4076.JPG


  • Almost there!

IMG_4077.JPG


  • I’m here! And here is a photo of the cold spring when I arrived. Actually I am all alone because no one is around during that time. I was a bit surprise because it is high tide the reason why all the pipes in the reservoir is overflowing.

IMG_4081.JPG


  • Gladly I won’t be a loner anymore because some children came to go for a swim and others to wash their clothes.
    IMG_4083.JPG

IMG_4087.JPG

IMG_4088.JPG

IMG_4091.JPG

IMG_4089.JPG


  • It is so obvious with the smile on their faces that they are really enjoying especially the little kid. I really had a great time watching those kids which makes me enjoy the moment also. Not for long after I take my rest I then joined dipping in the cold water and it is literally called. Sad to say we don't have photos together. Most likely we spent an hour in the cold spring before we decided to go home because it is almost 5:00 pm in the afternoon and it will be a long ride for me. The terrain will be steep after having a downhill terrain going. And it will definitely take me longer time to get home. But the bottom line is everything is worth it and it is a great experience. I'm looking forward on going back to this place one of these days.

IMG_4084.JPG


  • The said cold spring is directly connected to a river to which is walking distance from here that is why it is no surprise that there are live fishes also in the spring. Probably one of the reasons why the livelihood of the people around here is fishing.

Photos taken on my way home:


IMG_4098.JPG


IMG_4102.JPG


IMG_4103.JPG


IMG_4104.JPG


IMG_4106.JPG


  • Right after a long, tiring yet enjoyable trip I was able to get home together with the experiences and memories that I had during the day! I'm looking forward for more "BikeVENTURE" in the future!


Thank you so much for dropping by and for the support! Stay tuned for more blogs and updates from me @spreadyourword! God bless!

Sort:  

How awesome that there is a cold spring that's very near your place. Thank you for crafting this well-written post. It is featured in @bayanihan's 31st Philippines' Curation Updates. Upvoted 100%

Thank you so much for the appreciation. It really means a lot and a great way to boost me up to push and strive hard on making quality posts in the future! I am totally in a great surprise knowing that my post is being featured. I still can't believe it! Just wow! God bless and more power @bayanihan!

Uhmm yes it is really awesome and amazing that there is a cold spring near our place because anytime you decide to go for a swim there is no need to go far. Truly a gift of nature and our Creator!

Thank you for the support @hr1 and @surpassinggoogle! Highly appreciated!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much @c-squared! God bless amd more power :)

That really looks fun. Thanks for sharing your story here in #ulogs. Have a wonderful day!

It's my pleasure to be a part of this community :) Have a wonderful day also @ulogs! God bless and more power!

congrats for being featured @spreadyourword!

Congrats !!! 😀😀😀

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by spreadyourword from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95