Iceland Part 1 (not the best of starts)

in #travel6 years ago

Iceland .png

Hello Everyone,

Hope you are having an amazing day.

Today I would like to share with you some photos of my trip to beautiful Iceland.

We reached Manchester Airport, after a 2 hour journey in the coach. I didn't have much to do or anyone to talk to because I sat down on my own for some unknown reason. We got out off the coach, took our bags and had a head-count before making our way into the departures area. We went up in a HUGE elevator to the 3rd floor. We got into a queue where we dropped off our suitcases and got our boarding passes. After this, we passed through a few security checks.

It wasn't the best of starts... There was an hour delay for the plane to take-off, but the plane journey was great. I saw the plane take-off and got my friend, who was sitting by the window, to take a photo of the view.
20180330_143616.jpg
20180330_143617.jpg

I'm sure you will agree, it was a lovely view.

During the flight, I watched part of the film, Wonder Woman
Wonder Woman.jpg

I played the games I had on my phone.

I played cards with two of my friends on the plane. (I lost most of the time).

I talked to the other students about what they were most excited about. (At this point, the thing I wanted to see the most was a bed - I was exhausted as we had been travelling for 8 hours ). Speaking to the others, I heard the Geysirs were the most popular thing to see. This is when water and water vapour shoot from out of the ground. Which will be shown in another blog about Iceland.

After waiting for what felt like years, we finally reached Iceland. We waited for everyone that wasn't part of the school to get off the plane, then we got off ourselves.

We went through another security check before making our way to where our suitcases would be. One of the teachers sent over some of the students to grab the suitcases that were ours. My friends got theirs, I got mine but we were still waiting for some of the suitcases. 10 minutes went by, 20 minutes went by, 1 hour went by, still no sign of the suitcases being here. Everyone started to wonder if the cases had gone missing. The 2 teachers on the trip were talking to a man from Icelandair. The teacher told us that the people, who hadn't got their suitcases would not get them today. Everyone started to panic. Instead, the missing cases would arrive tomorrow........ but very late in the night.

We left the airport and the first thing that we could smell was the aroma of fish. I could feel the coldness on my face but it was a nice cold.

We got into the coach and we found out that the bowling, that was planned, had been postponed to the following night. At this point, that didn't really matter as most people were concerned where their suitcase were. I was concerned for them too.

While everyone was worrying about their suitcases, I lost my phone! I started to panic - looking under the seat and in the pockets of my bag. Luckily I found out I just wasn't looking hard enough, as I found it right at the bottom of my bag.

Phew! With the drama over, I decided to take a few photos of the immediate surrounding area

Here are some of the photos I got
20180330_182213.jpg

20180330_182214.jpg
20180330_182356.jpg

After this, I put my phone down and had a little rest - It had been a long day. Being so tired, I must have fallen a sleep on the coach.

When I woke up, We were almost at the hotel. I looked out the window, taking in the city of Reykjavik. Whilst doing this, we pulled into the hotel we were going to be staying in. It was called Hotel Cabin.

Hotel cabin.png

We got off the coach and we entered the hotel. We got given our key cards for our room. We were in room 310 which was at the end of a corridor. Me and my roommate entered the room. It was basic but that's all that we needed we were going to be out most of the time anyway.

We had a window that had a lovely view of the mountains far in the distance. Here are a couple of photos of it
20180330_191713.jpg
20180330_191719.jpg

That was the first day of my trip to Iceland. It didn't start off on a positive note.

But the following two days, made all that waiting worthwhile...

MORE TO FOLLOW!!!!

Thanks For Reading

Matthew

Sort:  

Reply to this comment if you want me to resteem your last blog post to my 32,500+ followers. @a-0-0

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 64 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66