Caving at Gua Tempurung, Gopeng

in #travel6 years ago

I do my regular workouts but my body still felt out of touch itself for some reason. I felt glum in the city so I packed my sister and drove to the north of Malaysia, Perak to do some caving in Gua Tempurung - it is Malay for coconut shell because the cave walls resemble that texture. It was exhilarating and humbling, and some parts I felt like i was in The Descent (not the best movie to think of when in a cave).

IMG-20180616-WA0030.jpg

My body felt at ease, it felt in touch with its senses.
The photos you see were when it was safe to not focus on falling down somewhere, lol. Crawling, climbing, sliding; some seemed they were slipping into the abyss and instead of our guide running to the rescue, all he would repeatedly say was, 'Let your body learn. Trust your instincts.' And it is true what he said, you'd be surprised to find people entering nature and not knowing what to do with themselves, not knowing where to step, hold or what to look out for. When our ancestors were badass Lara Crofts and Indiana Jones, we've evolved to become 'lazy' to some extent. We need to keep our senses sharp and not take our world for granted.

IMG-20180616-WA0036.jpg

IMG-20180616-WA0047.jpg

I wanted to do Gunung Mulu but it was out of my budget and this tour was a mere RM30. I encourage you to get out, get in touch with all of your senses doing these kind of activities instead of throwing hundreds of RM in a club only to wake up like a shithead the next day. I mean, if you wanna that's fine, who da hell am I to tell you what to do with your time. But give me a call if you're up for an adventure :)

IMG-20180616-WA0038.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @stephyg88! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73