Kyoto Kinkaku-ji (Golden Temple)

in #travel6 years ago

In early June I went to Kyoto to show around a friend and to meet up with another friend. The friend I was showing around came over from Denmark and had never been to Japan. While his trip was short, we had to make a day-trip to Kyoto. One of the spots I took him too was the Golden Temple, or Kinkaku-ji which means Temple of the Golden Pavillion.

Golden 1a.jpg
(I took this photo with my IPhone...pretty good right!)

We were able to beat the crowds (this is one of the most popular places in Kyoto) to walk comfortably around.

Golden 2.jpg

As I was getting closer, I realized the structure is not so large. It has the shimmer of gold, but the actual size is not as grand as I expected.

Golden 3.jpg

The site originates from 1397, but sadly this structure is not original.

Golden 4.jpg

This Temple was re-build in 1954 after a monk tried to burn himself alive in it. He survived, but the building didn't. I am happy to say that the building was re-built and that the gold you see is actually real gold leaf and not paint. Restoration happened again in 1984.

Now you can see why this temple is famous, and truly breathtaking.

Sort:  

Hopefully we can visit there too once we go to Japan this year 😊

Kyoto will definitely be on our list. There are so many places to see and experience. It will take a few days here and will be such a relaxing and cultural trip.

This is really amazing,thank you so much for sharing.

You're welcome. Thanks for reading. Even the best photos can't capture the feeling of a place. It was a serine feeling, very peaceful even though there were many tourists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69606.90
ETH 3697.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24