Travel Broadens The Mind... But Some People Should Probably Stay At Home. Right?

in #travel5 years ago

Like many people I spend a lot of time pondering a life in which money is not a worry at all.

Maybe worry was the wrong word, after all anybody who knows me ((@stevenwood)) knows that money is the very last thing I would ever worry about. I guess what I meant to say is a life in which money is no object. A life in which the financials are something that does not even need to be pondered as there is always enough money for anything that me and mine would like to do or to have.

I can never resist a gratuitous pic of the Maldives!


Source


Again like most people when this kind of fantasizing comes to mind, travel is a favourite topic. This is an area in which the mind can really run free and be as extravagant as it likes.

What if the money was here right this second... Enough to travel literally anywhere on the planet, I wonder where I would choose if I had only 60 seconds to decide?

  • One of the awe inspiring wonders of the world?
  • A historical site of immense significance?
  • Would it be a tour of the best theme parks in the world?
  • An idyllic paradise like the Maldives?
  • An epic trek, Machu Picchu, Himalayas, maybe the Rockies?
  • A lavish cruise taking in major cities around the world?

I have been thinking of this recently... We need to ponder that crypto-bull-run dream right? How else are we supposed to survive a long crypto winter, like the one we seem to be finally waking from?

I am struggling even now to make a decision on just where I would go if placed under this kind of pressure to decide.

There are so many amazing places on this beautiful blue green orb we call home that I would love to visit.

Do know where you would go given the same challenge to decide???

Ah! There I go digressing again, this was not the point of my writing this post... I have rambled for so long as I often do that you may have suffer cognitive impairment if you try and recall the title of the post.


Source

Travel broadens the mind.

"Ah yes Steven, now I remember" I hear you cry!

When this phrase springs to mind I get annoyed, very annoyed about a specific kind of tourist. I have encountered them on every holiday/vacation I have ever taken. Those people who talk about going somewhere new, talking about seeing a culture and then...

Non stop moaning because things here are strange, new and different and they cannot find the exact food they enjoy at home!

We English are particularly frustrating for this. We travel to the airport, endure a flight, engage in a usually hot, stuffy transfer to our hotel, villa or apartment only to lament all the things we left back home!!!

This is most prevalent in the cheaper package tour areas to the Mediterranean. You only have to visit the nearest beach and you can spot us, we are usually wearing long trousers rolled up to the knees whilst dipping our toes in the surf, saying things like...

"Ooh I'm too 'ot...Innit 'ot, ooh it's red 'ot, I'm sweltering, are you too 'ot Doris?"

Please don't ask me why these people never seem to be able to pronounce the word hot? It's just a quirky observation I have made on holiday. Next is the food complaining about what sinister ingredients may be hidden in the paella.

Never let British people on holiday see a TV!

They will talk for hours about how the TV shows at home are sooo much better than here ((wherever here may be... It doesn't matter!)) They will be heard exclaiming such utterances as...

"Ive no idea what this show s about I can't understand a word of it, can you Bill?"

Some people really should just stay at home where they can get the food, TV and surroundings they are comfortable with in a temperature controlled 352 days a year cold, rainy ecosystem.


Source


The idea of immersing in different cultures and seeing new and unusual sights and trying a plethora of foods and experiences that I don't usually have access to is just what travel is about for me. To miss it all with some warped idea of everything being better at home is an absolute travesty.

Not quite sure where that rant about my fellow compatriots abroad came from, but I feel better now I have gotten it out of my system.

I am working on getting some Steem back into my account and that of my @stevenwood account too, once I do I shall begin curating the posts of the oh-so-fabuloso travelers and digital nomads once again.


Thanks for sharing this particular journey with me, fellow stowaways looking for adventure are always more than welcome aboard.


Source

You maybe wondering about my not having the little 100% power up symbol on this post as those who know me as @stevenwood know I only ever plough my rewards back into the system. I am wanting some liquid Steem to enroll in @dustsweeper and @steembasicincome as I envisage my posts will have almost no visibility until my account grows.

Sort:  

Congratulations @stowaway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @stowaway! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59