Hold My Beer...No! I Mean Hold My full Automatic Military whatever Gun

in #travel6 years ago

20170529_110649.jpg

Only on my island!
It so now and then happens that we have the Marines come in to practise war to defend our island against invaders.
But they get pushed to the limit to help us with beach cleaning, reforest, and oil spills to conquer the heat in uniform.
Although stranded here I love the island and its people and I do all I can to help to keep this diamond of the Caribbean pure. Which is an illusion knowing the damage that is done by the overload of cruise ships.

Me being on this picture with the military armory is unique I mean would a marine leave his weapon on the beach unguarded? But this is what our island was like. We make no big deal out of anything and that is why celebrities like our island. I drive Bill Gates and his family around and even the King of the Netherlands can come here and we are all good with it. No paparazzi shit. We all know who is on the island, where they stay and we shut up about it respecting privacy. You gotta know that the whole island is FB friends with just about everybody on the island so news goes faster than smoke signals in the old days.

Thousands of people visit our island. In one hand a phone and in the other a plastic water bottle they dump in our trash before they go back to the ship.
Our local restaurants make no money at all because the cruise in "all inclusive".
Two cruise ships means over 10.000 people roaming our island. Ten years ago we were only with 8000.

Progress for cruise ship companies means disaster for our island, the coral reefs and nature as a whole will be damaged .
And I so want to share the beauty of my island but my enthousiasme of its beauty can be harmful.

Good old days from not even that long ago are gone and I don't think the marines would ever let me "watch" the weapons or even sit there trying and look cool again.

island-closed-sm.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69