Went to Miami and Got My First Tattoo

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

DSC01509-3.JPG

Its been a couple years since I had a vacation, so I decided to take off on a cruise in the Caribbeans and then a week in South Beach, Miami from January 6 to 21, 2018. This is the story of how I got my first tattoo.

I've desired to get inked for a long time in my life now, however, I was never able to commit to a tattoo idea.

When I arrived in Miami on January 14, I was sitting on the couch of my AirBNB, and thought, it's time to get a tattoo. So I Googled and found an article in the Miami New Times.

miami new times.png

In the article I went through each of the tattoo shops mentioned, and the one that I liked most was Ochos Placas Tattoo Company. There were two artists I liked in particular, which were Julio Betancourt and Javier Betancourt. I'm not sure if they were related.

There was a panther design Javier did that caught my eye. I liked the vibrancy of the colors, and the hard lines.

I was stuck between this and Julio's skull and snake drawing.

I consulted with a friend from back home, who was a tattoo apprentice. She gave me valuable insight, and from there I decided to go with Javier as I liked his color shading, however Julio's line work is also great.

I went into Ochos, and was sad to hear Javier was booked up for the entire week. So I asked to be put on a waiting list. Luckily, hours after, the receptionist called. I got the appointment for Friday!

When I met with Javier, I showed him the designs I liked, and asked for a panther head on my left forearm. He came up with an initial drawing, but I didn't connect with it. In my mind, I was really stuck with the ones I saw on his Instagram.

IMG_3703.JPG

I gave a few comments, and then he worked on a complete redesign. My initial impression was that I liked it, but wasn't sure, because it was a front-symmetrical view of the panther head. I guess I had it set in my head that it was going to be an angular view.

IMG_3704.JPG

After some thinking, and with Javier's insight, I realized the frontal view would work best on my forearm. So we decided to start work on the piece.

We did some prep on my arm. I was feeling a bit anxious, as I heard there is some level of pain. It's hard to gauge because everyone has a different threshold of pain.

IMG_3710.JPG

However, it really wasn't that bad when the machine made contact to my arm. It is uncomfortable, let's be honest. It feels like a knife slicing through your arm. So it is not for everyone, if you don't like pain. But I saw the pain as part of the process, almost like a transformative or meditative process. It helps when you focus on breathing, or focus on a thought, detaching you from the immediate sensations.

IMG_3712.JPG

After the line work was done, Javier began shading.

IMG_3716.JPG

IMG_3717.JPG

IMG_3718.JPG

IMG_3720.JPG

After the black shading, came the red.

IMG_3721.JPG

IMG_3722.JPG

To keep the color profile balanced, Javier decided to go with minimal colors. Mainly blacks, red, and a tiny bit of white on the pupils. The other pieces he did in the past had yellow tones in the eyes and whites on the teeth. I really think Javier made the right choice by limiting the coloring as the minimalist aesthetic work a lot better with my style and personality.

I am beyond satisfied with my first tattoo. I am super impressed by Javier's creative intuition, from picking up that a symmetrical view of the panther, and that a minimal color profile would be best. During the process I wasn't sure about those decisions, however, in hindsight, I am so happy that Javier did what he did. I would not have had it any other way, as this was the best decision for my style. I will surely work with Javier again and put my full trust in his artistic vision the next time I visit Miami.

Sort:  

Congratulations @stranjah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @stranjah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71353.04
ETH 3819.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51