R.I.P. Warren MillersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Yesterday the legendary Warren Miller passed away at the age of 93 at his home on Orcas Island in Washington. Warren was a man that brought together his love for skiing and travel, with his passion to make epic films. His mark was made with the way he included the adventures of getting to the people and places in his films. "What an amazing life it has been, probably the most exciting thing if you put it all together are the amazing, wonderful, interesting and brilliant people I've been able to meet and become friends with." Warren also made his films unique with his quotes and narrations of these films.

“Don’t take life too seriously, because you can’t come out of it alive.”– Warren Miller

As a young man I was drawn to his films upon each new release to see what amazing skiing destinations he was sharing with me and his audience. Every film I saw got me completely "juiced" for an epic season on the slopes. Warren's films also showed me how special the connection of all people around the world is to the sport of skiing. Warren had a gift in sharing the stories of the people he met in his film making adventures.

“If you don’t do it this year, you’ll be one year older when you do,”

Warren Miller leaves behind a record of 750 films! as well as several books, and hundreds of non-fiction stories. Warren also has shown that you can follow a passion and live the life you desire, as well as live that life in total freedom. In a 2012 interview with Powder magazine Warren said "My camera brought me freedom and a chance to document and share it. It was like having a magic carpet and a passport all rolled into one."

Thank you for upvoting and resteem!

Sort:  

"I spent my whole life trying to convince people that they don't belong in square rooms because their bodies are round, and to go out there and enjoy the freedom that this sport has to offer." -Warren Miller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69046.82
ETH 3769.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68