Ever been so extra ... ?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Not a fiction story, not a science post. Just something that went through my head while looking through some pictures I took. Enjoy!



When in Paris, you'll quickly notice how extra everything seems to be. But with the title of this post, I'm not referring to the usual things like this:

DSC_0005.JPG

Or even this

DSC_0003.JPG

No, I'm referring to what this guy

DSC_0027.JPG

Felt necessary to do with his garden - the gardens of Versailles. For those who don't recognize him, this statue depicts Louis XIV of France, also referred to as the "Sun King". He liked fancy stuff. And he was so, so extra. When you approach the castle of Versailles, the first thing you'll notice is the super golden, super shiny gold fence, surrounding it.

DSC_0030.JPG

Now imagine you're a poor peasant, seeing this ...I would have started the French revolution a lot sooner. But maybe they didn't usually get that far? Or they didn't care. Royalty was something special back then, after all. More special than what's going on today.

Upon entering the gardens (saving 1.50€ on the entry fee if you're a student, yay! The still unfinished degree is worth something after all), I encountered the "Orangerie", a place where they grow oranges and lemons. It was very, very tempting to just take some with me. But most were still very green, and I can't imagine oranges grown in the middle of France taste very good.

DSC_0045.JPG

The fun thing about these gardens is that they just go on and on and on and on and...

DSC_0062.JPG

And if you find the right spot, you find artistic depictions of ... well ... rape.

DSC_0067.JPG

The statue is called The Rape of Persephone and looks similar to The Kidnapping of the Sabine Women. Guess rape culture goes way back? Why would you want that in your large garden? Your large garden with ... a lot of plants ... and places to hide ... hmm.

This statue was also the spot where I met the woman with the most boring job on earth: Keeping people off of the marble on the floor around the bust. She was continually shooing people away. Wouldn't it be easier (and cheaper) to just close that part off? Probably. But ... it wouldn't be as extra I guess. Hire someone just for that ...

You weren't impressed by the golden gates? Well, how about this:

DSC_0080.JPG

So much gold. Golden turtles too! So unnecessary! Probably what I'd end up doing if I had unlimited Steem money. Although I'd include more dragons.

Then, some people manage to come up with the greatest lies during life and are still hailed as revolutionaries hundreds of years later. I'm talking about the father of homeopathy, Samuel Hahnemann.

DSC_0115.JPG

Seems like you just need to come up with bullshit that sounds great enough to receive a giant tomb on the (Père Lachaise Cemetery](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/P%C3%A8re_Lachaise_Cemetery). So many graves are not even being cared for anymore, and this one still receives flowers ...

Then again, there's the tomb of Oscar Wilde.

DSC_0111.JPG

Around which a wall of glass had to be erected, because people kept leaving lipstick marks, which ruined the stone.

DSC_0112.JPG

For those who don't know him, you might know "The Picture of Dorian Gray". That's his work. He also wrote poems like this:

Out of the mid-wood's twilight
Into the meadow's dawn,
Ivory limbed and brown-eyed,
Flashes my Faun!

He skips through the copses singing,
And his shadow dances along,
And I know not which I should follow,
Shadow or song!

O Hunter, snare me his shadow!
O Nightingale, catch me his strain!
Else moonstruck with music and madness
I track him in vain!

In the Forest, by Oscar Wilde

How extra!




All images were taken by me, on my shitty phone.

Sort:  

Aahhhhhh... It's too beautiful to resist!!

France, particularly Paris is a place I'd love to visit in my lifetime.

It's totally worth it!

Your phone isn't so shitty, these are some nice pictures

Those gardens are magnificent, albeit with very questionable art... Some wtf going on over there. I guess if I was a peasant back then, maybe I'd assume that a king with this grandeur would probably have a big army. At least until the family can't be fed...

Lipstick marks on tombstones is something else entirely... Oscar Wilde quite the lady's man I guess even if he's dead

The power of photo editing software ... ;)

And Oscar Wilde was not just a ladies man...

Great photos! I am pretty sure that place is heavily guarded but trust me and I am saying this as a proud African... Most of that gold wouldn't be there if that place was located here :D It looks like heaven, literally.

My bag was checked while walking in but not while walking out ...

The most original tourist guide to Versailles

LuiCoin, and VersaillesDollars, ICO starts NOW

I'm buying 500

And then you can make crypto-analytic posts with partially naked courtesans. Only the best for LuiCoin promotion...

Of course!

I loved everything about this post. <3
Also this

I would have started the French revolution a lot sooner.

Also, I would leave my lipstick on Oscar's Wildes tomb too tbh.

Oscar Wilde would certainly have appreciated that

Amazing photos! I especially like the golden turtles and golden fences

So much gold!

If a phone with such resolution is "shitty," then I'd love to see pictures from your HD camera when you take one :)
Someone should give that gardener an award. Dang! Such dedication! This palace is gorgeous. Wow, I'd kill to visit such a location :D

I'm sure there isn't just one ... Although I did picture an old main with some nail clippers trimming the trees when I walked by.. :D

I wouldn't be surprised if they actually used clipper due to the level of precision evident in the cut :)

It reminds me my first time in Paris! I was all the time like woww and woww :D how did they do it? Paris is just amazing :)

That statue is what they call STATUE-tory rape :D

You just had to make this joke, didn't you :P

Well I am not sure if hades is per-se-fon(d) of her :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14