You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travels With Connie #63 The Hanford Reach

in #travel6 years ago

Simply amazing that the government can take such a beautiful area and turn it into a disaster such as they have done, it is beyond comprehension.
I don't know that I would want to eat any of the fruit coming from those trees, but chances are it ends up in the grocery stores and we never know where it comes from.
Thanks for allowing us to hitch a ride on this trip.

Sort:  

I have some good news. It's got to be one of the most closely monitored areas in the world, now. Hanford was a small town (less than 1000) that the Government simply relocated when they confiscated the whole area for the project. It was, in it's way, vital to the prosecution of WWII and the balance with Russia throughout the Cold War. In the days when all surveillance was 'boots on the ground' it was incredibly remote and easy to control. After they removed the residents there was simply no reason for anybody to go there. Sort of like Area 51. I'll bet there are some toxic spots there, too,

I have been studying a lot about the wars recently the more I am learning about those the ill I get with our government, at some point I will do a daily dose on those, there was a whole lot left out of the history books I learned from.
It sure seems like a remote area, but still a waste of beautiful land in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67